Games With Foreboding Atmospheres

Home Forums General video game discussion & off topic Games With Foreboding Atmospheres

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 13 reply threads
  • Author
      Anonymous

Any more games with atmospheres like Diablo? I started playing it for the first time and Iove games that really get you tense on the atmosphere alone. Stuff like Doom 64, Tomb Raider 1, and Silent Hill.

• #8808 Reply
      Anonymous

it's a meme now, but majoras mask
      a great one is super metroid, the atmosphere of that one isn't pretentious and feels lonely
      a gemstone is oddworld abes odyssey, you feel pressed to save your clan

• #8810 Reply
        Anonymous

I loved Majora's Mask and Super Metroid. Abe's Odyssey is definitely one I have to check out now, thanks.

Unironically Dark Souls.
        I do love Demon's Souls and Dark Souls partially for the atmosphere as well.

• #8809 Reply
      Anonymous

Unironically Dark Souls.

• #8817 Reply
        Anonymous

this but bloodborne much moreso

• #8811 Reply
      Anonymous

God, I love Doom 64, i wish there were more anons to talk about it with

• #8812 Reply
        Anonymous

soon anon, soon…

• #8813 Reply
      Anonymous

System Shock and the first Bioshock come to mind

• #8814 Reply
      Anonymous

D1 and D2 are really masterful in that regard. There are a lot of other games with a menacing atmosphere but none quite like those games.
      Yume Nikki might fit the bill

• #8815 Reply
      Anonymous

grim dawn

• #8816 Reply
      Anonymous

Darkest Dungeon

• #8818 Reply
      Anonymous

Stalker games kind of give you this feel

• #8819 Reply
      Anonymous

Thanks for all the recs, lads. I'll make a list of all the ones I haven't played. I've also been looking at Harvester and I Have No Mouth and I Must Scream, are those any good?

• #8820 Reply
        Anonymous

>Harvester
        It's pretty trash, only notable for being kind of funny at parts
        >I Have No Mouth and I Must Scream