It's been almost 6 years since RTX cards were first released. Has your opinion of it changed since then?

It's been almost 6 years since RTX cards were first released. Has your opinion of it changed since then?

Schizophrenic Conspiracy Theorist Shirt $21.68

Homeless People Are Sexy Shirt $21.68

Schizophrenic Conspiracy Theorist Shirt $21.68

  1. 3 weeks ago
    Anonymous

    >6 years
    >it's still shit and a waste of time
    Biggest meme in gaming.

  2. 3 weeks ago
    Anonymous

    Nope gimmick piece of shit to suck more money

  3. 3 weeks ago
    Anonymous

    Yes. Went from the avg poorgay assmad v poster hating mindset to enabling it in every game that has it with dlss 3 + sharpening on.
    Literally better performance with gergous visuals than on native res with rtx off

  4. 3 weeks ago
    Anonymous

    No. I have a 4080 and I never turn RTX on except for like a minute just to see how it looks.

  5. 3 weeks ago
    Anonymous

    >REAL TIME RAYTRAICING!!!
    >fake resolution, fake frames

    • 3 weeks ago
      Anonymous

      >Do a worse work than double rendering at the 90s a closed room

      • 3 weeks ago
        Anonymous

        is this the 'good grafics' that AW2gays were yammering about?

      • 3 weeks ago
        Anonymous

        I'm sure you could write basic hacks that drops the render resolution of mirrors drastically depending on distance and angles and it would still be less of a performance hit than gaytracing

        • 3 weeks ago
          Anonymous

          Not a programmer monkey bur every game that does this dont have a big loss of fps even when i was younger with a crappy windows 98 in the 2000s

          • 3 weeks ago
            Anonymous

            Those "mirrors" were usually closed off rooms like toilets for a reason

            • 3 weeks ago
              Anonymous

              Those are the kinds of rooms mirrors are usually placed in in real life as well.

    • 3 weeks ago
      Anonymous

      No. I have a 4080 and I never turn RTX on except for like a minute just to see how it looks.

      Nope gimmick piece of shit to suck more money

      >6 years
      >it's still shit and a waste of time
      Biggest meme in gaming.

      Good morning sers
      please do the needful and go hate on nonpoors who redeem good graphics

      • 3 weeks ago
        Anonymous

        Cope harder, gay tracing was invented so that Nvidia can sell less for more, and gays like you ate it up, you are the iToddlers of the PC world.

        • 3 weeks ago
          Anonymous

          Good post ser please post more cope

          • 3 weeks ago
            Anonymous

            memetracing is cost-cutting as it allows devs to be lazier instead of thinking about lighting, pajeet. you're not fooling anyone.

  6. 3 weeks ago
    Anonymous

    I don't have an RTX card and the way things are going it's unlikely I'll ever buy one.

  7. 3 weeks ago
    Anonymous

    No, I thought what they were offering was great. I still think it is great. I just don't think the value matches the price. The last time I though that was during the RTX 20XX series. I thought the 3070 and 3080 were overpriced. I think the first gen 40XX series were astronomically overpriced and I think the second gen 40XX series are gigantically overpriced. Cut about 200 to 250 off the price and I'll be singing a different tune. Until then, I'll keep considering AMD and Intel.

  8. 3 weeks ago
    Anonymous

    nope
    dlss looks like ass every time, beginning to now
    i will always use fidelityfx cas so that i can see instead of feel like i need to put glasses on due to the vaseline smear taa and its derivatives like the post processing technique of deep learned super* (*actually sub) sampling

  9. 3 weeks ago
    Anonymous

    Irrelevant until a game can have a ray traced mirror maze playing in real time

  10. 3 weeks ago
    Anonymous

    Developers are struggling to give us games that perform at a somewhat acceptable level with that garbage OFF.

    • 3 weeks ago
      Anonymous

      I mean...if you didnt buy the 6800XT the only moron is you lol
      Best GPU of the decade.

      yeah well just use EPIC nanite to clean up your pajeets sloppy models clogging up the render pipe like a week old curry.
      DLSS XeSS FSR Framegen Fluid motion <- all scams to band aid the reality that no one can code anymore. Games with correct modeled triangles run at fricking 300+ fps in 4k with all the real time effect shit on.

  11. 3 weeks ago
    Anonymous

    it doesnt help me generate pictures, does it? just makes things more expensive as far as i can tell.

  12. 3 weeks ago
    Anonymous

    we barely get functional games without RT. you really trush Rajeesh to pull off something playable with path tracing?

  13. 3 weeks ago
    Anonymous

    yes
    i got a gtx1080 in early 2017, it held up pretty well. Played Cyberpunk without raytracing and the game looked beautiful. I recently upgraded to an RTX 4080 last summer for Phantom Liberty. previously it seemed like most implementations were just extra lights and detailed shadows at a huge performance cost. but pathtracing was a whole different beast. i spent a lot of time in photomode and developed an eye for good lighting trying to mimick reality with the old lighting system. Got a gpu specifically to tryout pathtracing, and with framegen and ray reconstruct, visually it was a game changer. The game already looked beautiful with the default lighting engine, but the smooth blending of light and colors bouncing around you'll have to remind your brain that its not real, while also smoothly achieving 120fps.

    standard Ray Tracing effects is a gimmick. you can fake it with well placed and colored lights, or backed textures.
    but Path Tracing on the right hardware, implemented well is not a gimmick.

    • 3 weeks ago
      Anonymous

      > 4080
      > Path Tracing
      > This time it's good, I swear!

      lol

  14. 3 weeks ago
    Anonymous

    OY VEY GOY YOU NEEEEEEED THE <NEWEST PRODUCT> TO SHOWCASE PROPER DETAIL, ITS IMPOOOSSSIBLE TO DO OTHERWISE, BUY THE <BRAND> GOYY

  15. 3 weeks ago
    Anonymous

    don't see why the tesla line needed to be axed for this

  16. 3 weeks ago
    Anonymous

    no
    i find that it makes the games look a bit off. i honestly prefer baked in lighting at least for now.

    • 3 weeks ago
      Anonymous

      Probably because baked lighting is just precomputed raytracing.

  17. 3 weeks ago
    Anonymous

    Nope. It adds absolutely nothing to my experience. If you have time to stand around pondering whether the lighting and shadows are perfectly, 100% real-world accurate then the game you're playing must be fricking trash anyway. I'll take a higher framerate any day.

  18. 3 weeks ago
    Anonymous

    >raytracing
    Good for production and that's it. Lumen proves you don't need full blown raytracing and rasterization comes close for 99% of games.
    >DLSS upscaling
    Fricking magic. It's a solution for 4K to actually being viable in latest games, even if temporal upscaling is heavily overused by devs.
    >frame generation
    Gimmick and tool used by Nvidia for false advertising.

    • 3 weeks ago
      Anonymous

      >Lumen
      Brother, lumen works through raytracing.
      >>DLSS upscaling
      >Fricking magic
      Nevermind, you are not my brother. You are a fricking gorilla Black person

      • 3 weeks ago
        Anonymous

        >lumen works through raytracing.
        It's entirely different concept. Lumen is equivalent of CryEngine's SVOGI, which is like 11 years old, long before the first RTX GPU series. Light is gradually calculated on the fly and cached in memory and doesn't require any specific hardware.

        >Nevermind, you are not my brother. You are a fricking gorilla Black person
        >t. never played at 4K

        • 3 weeks ago
          Anonymous

          Watch the talk from the Lumen dev, you idiot.
          They are literally tracing rays.
          >long before the first RTX GPU series
          People were raytracing for 20+ years before RTX GPUs, monkey.
          Nvidia didn't fricking invent it.

          • 3 weeks ago
            Anonymous

            >They are literally tracing rays.
            So they do with SVOGI shadows. Doesn't make it a full raytracing. It's an optimized, rasterized variant.
            >People were raytracing for 20+ years before RTX GPUs, monkey.
            >Nvidia didn't fricking invent it.
            What part of "RTX GPUs" don't you understand, you illiterate fricking primitive?

            • 3 weeks ago
              Anonymous

              >It's entirely different concept
              >well, yeah... it's raytracing
              I accept your concession, moron.
              Don't fricking try to argue with me, I'm a graphics programmer.

              • 3 weeks ago
                Anonymous

                >didn't even tackle on RTX GPU part
                I accept your concession, moronic primitive

              • 3 weeks ago
                Anonymous

                >Don't fricking try to argue with me, I'm a graphics programmer.
                Sure you are. Did you completely miss the part that hardware lumen only just recently started improving performance in comparison to software lumen?

  19. 3 weeks ago
    Anonymous

    I own a 4090 and Ray tracing is still a gimmick

  20. 3 weeks ago
    Anonymous

    By the time ray tracing matters any current gpu will be potato at accelerating it so no, my opinion has not changed. we will get there where RT becomes the end goal but that is at minimum 8 years away.

  21. 3 weeks ago
    Anonymous

    Well yes Nvidia got BTFO by AMD again since they are make FREE fake raytracing and FREE fake frames, with updated FREE DLSS

    Nividia israelite lied about Frame Gen and Fake Gay tracing being only proprietary for 40 series. It can work on any card with AI cores.

    • 3 weeks ago
      Anonymous

      4090 is still the strongest GPU with just raw perf without all the troony garbage like framegen and dlss.

      >didn't even tackle on RTX GPU part
      I accept your concession, moronic primitive

      Why would I? It was moronic.
      You said

      >Good for production and that's it.
      And you are fricking stupid. Try to move goalposts harder.
      Even with a moved goalpost, it was still stupid. You need dedicated hardware. Amd doesn't rt mostly with general CU and they suck ass.

      >Don't fricking try to argue with me, I'm a graphics programmer.
      Sure you are. Did you completely miss the part that hardware lumen only just recently started improving performance in comparison to software lumen?

      I know exactly how that shit works, but I don't use garbage off-the-shelf engines, so I don't know the exact numbers.
      Even if what you say it's true, it's more of an algo design translation issue.
      Overall, lumen is overhyped. I personally wouldn't be using all that processing power like they do.
      There are better GI algos avaliable.

      • 3 weeks ago
        Anonymous

        >Amd does rt*

      • 3 weeks ago
        Anonymous

        >Try to move goalposts harder.
        What goalpost, moron? OP posted the picture of "RTX", which is associated with Nvidia's features exclusive to RTX series, which don't work on GTX. That's why I mention both (hardware) raytracing and DLSS upscaling and framegen. That's why I said that Lumen is a proof we don't need raytracing outside of production environment.

        • 3 weeks ago
          Anonymous

          >which don't work on GTX
          They do actually work on GTX, the same raytracing functions from rtx are available. They are just very slow because they run them on general CU.
          >I said that Lumen is a proof we don't need raytracing outside of production environment.
          And I've called you an idiot for saying that. You are raytracing REGARDLESS. Try to understand.
          It's only so much you can do with pure rasterization.
          Accept the L, you are just wrong.

          • 3 weeks ago
            Anonymous

            >It's only so much you can do with pure rasterization.
            That's why I said it's not "full blown raytracing", autismo.

            • 3 weeks ago
              Anonymous

              >That's why I said it's not "full blown raytracing", autismo.
              You are TRACING RAYS, idiot.
              >IT DOESN'T COUNT UNLESS IT'S FULL BLOWN PATHTRACING BECAUSE I SAID SO!!!!

              • 3 weeks ago
                Anonymous

                >PATHTRACING
                Thank god I'm not a graphics programmer, at least I'm free from schizophrenia.

              • 3 weeks ago
                Anonymous

                Pathtracing is what normalgays usually think raytracing is.

  22. 3 weeks ago
    Anonymous

    Well you see I don't have it so I have no opinion on it

  23. 3 weeks ago
    Anonymous

    I only use the RTX for tech demos like Portal RTX.
    The DLSS scaling software is nice, though, but shouldn't really be necessary.

  24. 3 weeks ago
    Anonymous

    Yeah, at first I thought it was really cool, but developers have done absolutely nothing with the tech so now I don't care anymore.
    >muh slightly prettier lighting with 3 times the performance cost

  25. 3 weeks ago
    Anonymous

    Yeah they only have become more dogshit for meme features no one uses except for shitposting

  26. 3 weeks ago
    Anonymous

    >6 years later
    >four games in total where RT makes noticeable difference
    >you still need to spend $2000 to enjoy it
    Still tech demo territory.

  27. 3 weeks ago
    Anonymous

    my 4090 is an absolute beast but since i'm on 1440p i won't see it really sweating for another year or two. right now FPS are capped at 150 on modified ultra settings and the card is running at 35-55% usage. so unless the game is terribly unoptimized(starfield) the card is barely doing anything. but considering the recent price tag of 2200+ i wouldn't recommend a 4090 to anyone for gaming.

  28. 3 weeks ago
    Anonymous

    weird story about all this is that after nvidia broke the trillion dollar milestone and raytheon started tanking because markets flipped on ukraine and israel, the latter company changed its name to RTX apparently to try to confuse investors

  29. 3 weeks ago
    Anonymous

    It hasn’t because I am not aware I’ve ever played a game with it turned on.
    All my cards have it, it’s just that I play older games. If I have ever had RTX on anything then it has made no difference to me that I know of.

  30. 3 weeks ago
    Anonymous

    notice how nobody in these threads talks about the CPU which is the real bottleneck in games today
    all of you are larping homosexuals and nobody could convince me otherwise

    • 3 weeks ago
      Anonymous

      >the CPU which is the real bottleneck in games today
      It what way exactly may I ask?

      • 3 weeks ago
        Anonymous

        Not him, but I agree.
        I have Ryzen 3600 and 2070S and my main priority for next build is CPU.
        If the game runs poorly on the GPU, I just lower the resolution and that works. Some people call it heresy, but I use 4K display and by default set the games to DLSS Performance. If the game hits the GPU limits while aiming at 60 fps, I lower the output to 1800p, which is enough to make significant performance impact, without altering visuals that much, especially if you use CAS for sharpening. My acceptable output limit is 1620p.
        >why not DLSS Ultra Performance?
        It actually looks bad in motion.

        Just recently I played Ready or Not and no matter the settings and resolution, the game stuttered like shit, even with just 50% GPU utilization.
        Like

        I can name only a single game I installed which was heavily CPU limited on 5600 @1440p and it's shit game not worth playing anyway.
        But I know of couple more, Hogwarts Legacy, Jedi Survivor both are trash as well.
        Pic related is launch version recent patch would have much better CPU performance.

        said, Starfield was also an issue. I had to go through mental gymnastics to set to the display's refresh rate at 50 Hz for consistent experience. But the game is trash and I don't want to come back.
        Dragon's Dogma 2 is pretty much guaranteed not to run well on my CPU, as 3600 is minimum requirement at 30 fps target and 3600X is mentioned as recommended CPU while also targeting 30 fps target.
        Console CPUs are just relatively too good for what's available, that's what I think. And that's how optimization works, you optimize the game until it reaches target framerate on target hardware, so 30 fps on console CPU and most popular PC CPUs won't be able to just bruteforce 60 fps.

    • 3 weeks ago
      Anonymous

      >nobody talks about cpus in a gpu thread
      wow so enlightening.

    • 3 weeks ago
      Anonymous

      >nobody talks about something completely unrelated in a thread about GPUs

    • 3 weeks ago
      Anonymous

      I can name only a single game I installed which was heavily CPU limited on 5600 @1440p and it's shit game not worth playing anyway.
      But I know of couple more, Hogwarts Legacy, Jedi Survivor both are trash as well.
      Pic related is launch version recent patch would have much better CPU performance.

  31. 3 weeks ago
    Anonymous

    It's interesting but the problem with raytracing is that it's totally unnecessary in games that do not use dynamic lighting.

  32. 3 weeks ago
    Anonymous

    Cyberpunk is the only game that made raytracing look appealing but it had horrible water, reflections and absolutely shitty ao in the base game

    When CDproject advertised it they changed color grading, added water parallax effects and more AO so it's begs the question on what raytracing REALLY looks like when they aren't shadely adding more visual effects to make it look better in comparison

    • 3 weeks ago
      Anonymous

      RT in cybertroony isn't that good looking unless you turn PT/Overdrive on. But that will eat up 75% of all your frames on nV and over 90% on AMD.
      The biggest improvement is how npcs are lit but denoiser will destroy the face textures so it's not even straight up improvement.

      • 3 weeks ago
        Anonymous

        >raytracing in cp looks pretty alright
        >now looks like shit, psycho ray tracing looks pretty alright
        >now that looks like shit, go get the new rtx for OVERDRIVE ray tracing!
        what the FRICK is this supposed to be? Is this like mobile networks, where 3g had fine speeds, and when 4g came out, 3g was throttled to hell so that 4g could be advertised as 100x the speed, and then again with 5g?

        • 3 weeks ago
          Anonymous

          RT in CP77 never looked amazing, but simply because it's open world trash there is no way the entire city would get proper pre-baked lighting. I would say higher quality textures and better LOD would make bigger difference than enabling RT on high.
          You can use https://www.nexusmods.com/cyberpunk2077/mods/8059
          To make OD not a complete performance killer.

  33. 3 weeks ago
    Anonymous

    still shit

  34. 3 weeks ago
    Anonymous

    i upgraded from a i6500 and a rx 470 to a 12700k and 3700. it feels great. i will never buy amd again

  35. 3 weeks ago
    Anonymous

    I went from GTX 960 to RTX 2070 to Radeon XTX. You tell me.

  36. 3 weeks ago
    Anonymous

    Ray tracing is the most stupidly inefficient way of rendering a game, but NVidia, which is now an AI company, is shilling this shit hard.
    Of course, you'll need fake resolution AI, fake frame AI, fake reflection AI, denoiser AI, Anti-aliasing AI, etc., to stand a chance, and you'll still see a lot of artifacts in the image, all to run at 720p/40fps even on an RTX3090 (real resolution and frame rate), but it's the future, right?

    • 3 weeks ago
      Anonymous

      >3D is the most stupidly inefficient way of rendering a game, but 3dfx, is shilling this shit hard.
      Same shit. You can't stop progress.

      • 3 weeks ago
        Anonymous

        can't stop diminishing returns either

        • 3 weeks ago
          Anonymous

          Sure, but we are still not there. Give it 10 more years to become mainstream

      • 3 weeks ago
        Anonymous

        Not even remotely similar case.
        For starters, “3D” is not a “way of rendering games".
        You have several different ways to render three-dimensional environments, ray tracing being one of them. The guys could, for example, have rendered Doom in 1993 using ray tracing principles, but they would have needed days to render each frame of the game.

        • 3 weeks ago
          Anonymous

          >You have several different ways to render three-dimensional environments
          Not really, you have raster or RT/PT that's it. By the same logic you could still use software 3D rendering on your CPU. Even Crysis has software renderer.
          We used to fake 3D with 2D, because hardware was just too slow. Raster is just cheap trick to fake RT, but we used it for so long we got quite good at it. RT is just magnitudes harder to run in real time, this is why we need cheap alternatives.

  37. 3 weeks ago
    Anonymous

    Still not ready. Not a single game that unanimously improves with this.

  38. 3 weeks ago
    Anonymous

    Why don't they make games with raytracing from the ground up like they did with metro enhanced edition. My friend ran that game with a 6600xt no problem.

    • 3 weeks ago
      Anonymous

      Enhanced Edition was just another version of their original game.
      Most people are still on pascal gpus.

      • 3 weeks ago
        Anonymous

        Correct, but it was made with RT in mind and ran so well because of it. I just don't understand why no other company does it.

        • 3 weeks ago
          Anonymous

          It's def possible, but making solely RT games alienates a bunch of people and thus less sales.
          Better to just tack it on, or do the better thing and release a fully RT'd version of the game.

  39. 3 weeks ago
    Anonymous

    >try it in cp2077
    >it actually ruins a lot of the aesthetic that non-RTX graphics provide
    >paying more money and tanking ur FPS to have a worse looking game

    why i never

    i think its cool when a game is built from the ground up for it. Not like in ERing and CP2077 where its clearly a post design addition which ruins the original look and feel for the worse

    • 3 weeks ago
      Anonymous

      >i think its cool when a game is built from the ground up for it.
      How many games do that?

      • 3 weeks ago
        Anonymous

        none thats the point it looks ass

      • 3 weeks ago
        Anonymous

        none thats the point it looks ass

        Metro Exodus Enhanced Edition

  40. 3 weeks ago
    Anonymous

    DLSS is pretty decent

    RTX is too demanding for 90% of the RTX lineup

  41. 3 weeks ago
    Anonymous

    In Source 2 raytracing is used for lighting preview in editor and faster light baking

    • 3 weeks ago
      Anonymous

      yeah well RTX is a meme if you can get by with static lighting, though even then RTX shadows/reflections could be useful

  42. 3 weeks ago
    Anonymous

    nope. it was never real ray tracing. it's just some shitty deep learning algos with a few samples.
    real raytracing still requires server farms working uninterrupted 24/7 to produce a couple of frames a day.

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *