ITT: "Popular" Opinions that are wrong

No, OoT isn't the best Zelda. It's MM.
No, 64 isn't the best Mario. It's Galaxy (or alternatively, Galaxy 2).
No, MGS 2 is not the best. It's MGS 3.
No, SFIV isn't the best. It's unironically III.
and so on
also
No, your favorite media outlet has shit opinions and you faglords eat it up. Please try thinking for yourself.

  1. 2 weeks ago
    Anonymous

    there has never been a good crpg

  2. 2 weeks ago
    Anonymous

    >No, OoT isn't the best Zelda. It's MM.
    Twilight Princess is the best 3D Zelda game.
    >No, 64 isn't the best Mario. It's Galaxy (or alternatively, Galaxy 2).
    Yes
    >No, MGS 2 is not the best. It's MGS 3.
    MGSV
    >No, SFIV isn't the best. It's unironically III.
    Didn't play Final Fantasy games.

    • 2 weeks ago
      Anonymous

      holy zoom

    • 2 weeks ago
      Anonymous

      >MGSV
      as much as I enjoy 5, 3 is much better

    • 2 weeks ago
      Anonymous

      >Twilight Princess is the best 3D Zelda game.

      I will die on this hill

      fuck your wonky graphics
      fuck your bloom effects
      Midna is best girl

  3. 2 weeks ago
    Anonymous

    An opinion can't be right or wrong. Open a dictionary sometime.

    • 2 weeks ago
      Anonymous

      No. There are objectively wrong opinions.

    • 2 weeks ago
      Anonymous

      >I think the earth is flat
      dumbass

      • 2 weeks ago
        Anonymous

        This is a statement concerning physical reality.
        Taste has nothing to do with this.

        • 2 weeks ago
          Anonymous

          oh no it's retarded

          • 2 weeks ago
            Anonymous

            Facts can be wrong or right.
            Opinions cannot.
            "Piece of art sucks" is not a statement of fact, as the only way to determine the quality in the game (even if in roundabout and inefficient manner) is seeing how many people like it. If a lot of people like the game, and you don't, then it's just not for you, but you can't say it sucks objectively, otherwise people wouldn't have liked it.

            • 2 weeks ago
              Anonymous

              you have to be 18 to post here

              • 2 weeks ago
                Anonymous

                If you say retarded shit like "Game is objectively bad" then it's you who should stop posting.

            • 2 weeks ago
              Anonymous

              >as the only way to determine the quality in the game (even if in roundabout and inefficient manner) is seeing how many people like it.
              False.

              • 2 weeks ago
                Anonymous

                Any other options? Geniunely curious. And no, by that metric "whether I liked the game myself or not" would then also not be enough, as I might just have shit taste and like a shitty game. Or even do so while being aware of it.

              • 2 weeks ago
                Anonymous

                You'd have to create a scale with a rational basis for every design decision, as well as every set of design decisions, focusing on the way the game executes on the developers' vision. It's possible, but it's extremely laborious.

              • 2 weeks ago
                Anonymous

                I see what you mean. It would be difficult, especially since gaming has no proper academia associated with it outside of Japan and guys on YouTube.
                However, that also implies that every rational decision would objectively be the best one, despite the vast un-uniformity of human experiences and thus different reactions to the same design tricks.
                To give an example, we basically DO have this exact thing for cinema. We've got a variety of tools and tricks we learned over the years, all the various lighting effects, camera pans, and what not. We more or less understand that they work or even why they work. And it's definitely not useless, people study those for a reason. But even with all that, we cannot really make that final leap and say that using trick X or using trick Y in scene Z is objectively better or worse. There will be some design choices that WILL turn off the majority of people, but even then there will be cases where this is not as evenly matched or clear. A lot of people still love trash movies, and if you go outside the anglosphere, where people are not told by reviewers that "thing X was trash" you'll see a lot of them loved the Star Wars prequels, or the Super Mario Bros. movie sincenerely without realziing those were so panned in the West at all.
                So with all of those tools and research already in hand, there seems to be some final "is/ought" pit that I am not sure can be surmountable, even if I want it to be.

        • 2 weeks ago
          Anonymous

          you can't prove the earth is round therefore it's not a fact

          • 2 weeks ago
            Anonymous

            If we are to go that route, you technically can't prove any experience filtered through the human perceptions lens represents actual physical reality. Which technically might be true but is reductive to the point of uselessness. So we can at least settle on intersubjectivity, as in something that all or the overwhelming majority of humans percieve as true since we share more or less the same perception mechanisms, and that just call THAT "objective" in everyday speech as it is for all intents and purposes of daily life.
            Not sure if math/physics equaltions/numbers are exempt from this or not, though, as they represent our measurement system and are not really true or false and more of a tool.

            • 2 weeks ago
              Anonymous

              you are such an idiot

              • 2 weeks ago
                Anonymous

                U mad

    • 2 weeks ago
      Anonymous

      >XIV and WoW are worth playing
      Good friends don't make their friends into addicted paypigs instead of just playing something fun, even other mmos

      You know exactly what this thread is for, the format is well over 15 years old, don't be so picky about words

  4. 2 weeks ago
    Anonymous

    The only reason SF4 isn't the best one is that they fucked up right at the end with Ultra.

  5. 2 weeks ago
    Anonymous

    japan does not make better games than the west

  6. 2 weeks ago
    Anonymous

    >liking galaxy
    >liking shit strike
    If you were my child I would go back in time to the day of your birth and abandon you in a dumpster, ngl

  7. 2 weeks ago
    Anonymous

    >the N64 library is bad because uh... the PS1 has more JRPGs

  8. 2 weeks ago
    Anonymous

    >No, OoT isn't the best Zelda. It's MM.
    Wrong. Zelda games are judged by the quality of their dungeons, and the dungeons in MM were awful compared to OOT's.

    • 2 weeks ago
      Anonymous

      Holy shit, how wrong can you be.
      MM is superior with EVERYTHING. That is not an overstatement. Story. Characters. Gameplay mechanics. Dungeons. World. Lore. EVERYTHING.

      MM is the EXACTLY when it started to show that Shiggy was old fashioned

      • 2 weeks ago
        Anonymous

        >story
        Fuck off. Neither story was that important in the grand schreme, and OOT's story may be generic "save the princess" crap, but it had way more care put into its progression than "hurr welcome to termina, now go clear these 4 random temples and beat skull kid, bro!" while interacting with generic townsfolk in between.
        >Characters.
        Characters in both games are interesting in their own right. What a shitty fucking argument. Not to mention have the characters in MM are from OOT.
        >Gameplay mechanics
        What? They play practically the same minus the masks.
        >Dungeons
        Again, you're a moron. The first three dungeons in MM are forgettable trash, a slog to get through, and the last one is good but is ruined by a shit boss.
        Meanwhile all of OOT's dungeons and bosses are memorable, with specific rooms that anyone who played the game can recall.
        >World
        And again, both worlds are interesting in their own right. The fact that you think this is a point of argument is retarded.
        >Lore
        Sure, I'll agree that the mysterious nature of MM is more memorable than OOT's rather generic setting.
        >Music
        Funny you didn't mention this when OOT's ocarina songs were so much better than the quickly thrown together slop that was MM's ocarina songs.

        • 2 weeks ago
          Anonymous

          >but it had way more care put into its progression than "hurr welcome to termina, now go clear these 4 random temples and beat skull kid, bro!" while interacting with generic townsfolk in between
          This is just bottom barrel opinion on a MM hater.
          The townsfolk was fun as hell, in the repetition of 3 days, finding out who the talk to and go, their problems, and so on.
          The main story had more substance than anything OoT could muster up. If anything, many parts of it was a bore. Don't even try to justify this.

          >Characters in both games are interesting in their own right. What a shitty fucking argument. Not to mention have the characters in MM are from OOT.
          What a shitty argument, when you can't even refute it? "B-but OoT had interesting characters too!" isn't an argument. Bottomline, MM had more interesting characters. Period. A character as bland as the milk guy is already better than what most of OoT had.

          >What? They play practically the same minus the masks.
          It's such an interesting and fun mechanic. Extremely creative too.

          >Dungeons
          >forgettable trash.
          Heh, compare it to what exactly, at most some dungeons are average compared to OoT but still at par if not better. There are only a few in OoT that stand out, given that it had more.

          >And again, both worlds are interesting in their own right. The fact that you think this is a point of argument is retarded.
          It is. It is better. You have no argument.

          >Music
          Some of the best soundtracks Zelda has to offer came from MM. The dark, dreary, anxious inducing setting makes for good music.

          Bottomline: MM is better. It's LITERALLY OoT but Nintendo had an opportunity to fix what it found lacking from OoT.
          It's just that the mainstream gaming media LOVES, I mean LOVES to coom over OoT, it's hilarious.

          OoT was first. LITERALLY THE ONLY REASON why it's considered GOAT. Because of the impact it had on the industry as a whole.

  9. 2 weeks ago
    Anonymous

    >ITT: "Popular" Opinions that are wrong.
    >Spider-Man video games have to be open world.
    I love webslinging in an open New York as much as everyone else, but I do miss level based Spider-Man video games sometimes, it feels like they're more focused and use his powers better.

  10. 2 weeks ago
    Anonymous

    Ok but here's an even less popular take:
    None of those series are even relevant. They might've been good games when they came out but that's it. I've tried a few of them like Mario 64 and got bored within a couple of levels. No I won't give them another chance either, I have better games to play.

  11. 2 weeks ago
    Anonymous

    Those are all normie contrarian takes. If you want real bait you gotta say ALL the Zeldas suck (they do)

  12. 2 weeks ago
    Anonymous

    Where the hell is it popular opinion that MGS2 is the best MGS??

    • 2 weeks ago
      Anonymous

      once the muttlennials stepped aside and based zoomers discovered the game, they realized that it indeed was the best game the whole time. so the opinion has shifted and it is now regarded as the best game

  13. 2 weeks ago
    Anonymous

    >Games should have a good story
    Storyfags are almost as annoying as Graphicfags,
    read a book and leave my hobby alone.

    • 2 weeks ago
      Anonymous

      Good game + good story = great
      Good game + bad story = Good
      Bad game + Good Story = Bad
      The only outliers are shit like Pathologic 1 where the Russian novel is worth the gameplay. But you're right they should just read books

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *