Opinion? Hard mode: don't mention AM2R

Opinion? Hard mode: don't mention AM2R

  1. 2 weeks ago
    Anonymous

    It drags on for too long and the controls are bit clunky and static
    Dread is an improvement in every single way

  2. 2 weeks ago
    Anonymous

    It's good enough for what it needed to be and I'm glad they got a second shot afterward

  3. 2 weeks ago
    Anonymous

    I don't like what the counter does to the gameplay and combat / enemy design, and I don't like playing a 2D game with an analog stick, this also applies to Dread.

  4. 2 weeks ago
    Anonymous

    AM2R is way better.

  5. 2 weeks ago
    Anonymous

    Gameplay felt bad and I hated the melee move.
    The other 2d games had much tighter controls and just felt better.

    Bought it but never finished it.

  6. 2 weeks ago
    Anonymous

    Pretty good, but Dread is a complete upgrade

    • 2 weeks ago
      Anonymous

      >Dread is a complete upgrade
      This isn't saying much, and it shows

  7. 2 weeks ago
    Anonymous

    >don't mention AM2R
    why not?

  8. 2 weeks ago
    Anonymous

    >don't mention AM2R
    GOP tactics

    • 2 weeks ago
      Anonymous

      rent free

  9. 2 weeks ago
    Anonymous

    It's alright for what it is, a remake of a boring and repetitive game.
    Its few new additions like Aion abilities were kinda meh but they were great in Dread so I consider Samus Returns as a test drive for Dread.

  10. 2 weeks ago
    Anonymous

    3D free aim and counterattacks both feel more "modern metroidvania" than "metroid"
    both are shit things in the game and made me dislike it
    didn't finish it, even though I pirated it
    don't want to play dread because of them
    can't wait for metroid to stop doing them

  11. 2 weeks ago
    Anonymous

    So they're gonna be able to make another game, right? Was Dread's performance good?

    • 2 weeks ago
      Anonymous

      Yeah, pretty sure Dread is the best-selling mainline Metroid game, and it got positive reviews and word-of-mouth, so IF another 2D Metroid is in the works it'll probably be by the same team.

    • 2 weeks ago
      Anonymous

      If you mean make another Metroid game in general, yeah. Dread is the best selling game until Prime 4 releases. Who knows if Nintendo will get MercuryStream to make the next game though.

  12. 2 weeks ago
    Anonymous

    made boss fights a chore. we can thank that for continuing it in dread too

  13. 2 weeks ago
    Anonymous

    It was worth a playthrough but I wasn't a big fan. That said I'm glad it exists because it was a good learning experience for MercurySteam and Dread was a massive improvement.

  14. 2 weeks ago
    Anonymous

    It's too hard i really like am2r i think it's better than the original in multiple ways.

  15. 2 weeks ago
    Anonymous

    Meh. I feel like it could've been done better by a fan..

  16. 2 weeks ago
    Anonymous

    first metroid I played and it was a lot of fun.
    Better than Super for sure, not sure if better than Zero Mission.

  17. 2 weeks ago
    Anonymous

    Diggernaut sucks but other than that it's pretty good.

  18. 2 weeks ago
    Anonymous

    i honestly started and stopped playing this game twice, and i bought it on launch day.
    so make of that whatever you will. but you mentioned hard mode so, yeah, that's all.

  19. 2 weeks ago
    Anonymous

    It's alright, enough issues I could barely beat it the second time but I've beaten Dread 13 times now.

  20. 2 weeks ago
    Anonymous

    >nooooooo don't mention the uberchad game that shits all over nintendo's shitty metroid games!

  21. 2 weeks ago
    Anonymous

    Great game. Needs a console port.

  22. 2 weeks ago
    Anonymous

    The Chozo Memories were kino and Diggernaut was a cool addition. If those two things were added to AM2R then Samus Returns would become obsolete. Diggernaut would've fit perfectly in AM2R's Mining Facility.

  23. 2 weeks ago
    Anonymous

    Solid and I prefer it over AM2R because it isn’t a total rehash of super metroid

    • 2 weeks ago
      Anonymous

      >I prefer it because it isn't any good
      >it is meaningless buzzword, though

      • 2 weeks ago
        Anonymous

        I liked it though? I thought it was good and has some nice bosses and exploration. AM2R was just a rom hack that didn’t advance the series in any way despite being good

        • 2 weeks ago
          Anonymous

          >nice exploration
          Easily the game's sorest point in a series known for atmosphere, environments and non-linearity

          • 2 weeks ago
            Anonymous

            It had the most of any game since zero mission i’d argue, certainly more than fusion, prime 3, and other m and the former 2 are generally well liked

            • 2 weeks ago
              Anonymous

              It overstays its welcome and drags on for too long

  24. 2 weeks ago
    Anonymous

    >options menu
    >not even one option

    Just let me toggle spider ball you stupid fucks. These 3DS games that make such heavy use of the L and R buttons make me feel like I have arthritis.

  25. 2 weeks ago
    Anonymous

    >Opinion?
    >don't mention AM2R
    Then I don't have an opinion.

  26. 2 weeks ago
    Anonymous

    Diggernaut is the worst boss in the entire series and it's not particularly close.
    Trial and error bosses with completely scripted patterns are not fun. That he also makes a habit of wasting time cycling through his phases until he gets to the part where you can hurt him a little means that even once you know what to do it's a slog.
    Not that you would know what to do the first time as the game has hammered home through it's level design that morph ball bombs are useless against suction fans. Naturally during one phase the boss can only be harmed by putting bombs in the path of it's suction fan.
    Peak design.

  27. 2 weeks ago
    Anonymous

    The controls fucking suck. I want to strangle whoever came up with that horrible circlepad, and then double-strangle them for making me use it as the only option in a motherfucking 2D platforming game

  28. 2 weeks ago
    Anonymous

    It's good and Proteus Ridley is the best fight in the 2D series.

  29. 2 weeks ago
    Anonymous

    Its trash

  30. 2 weeks ago
    Anonymous

    I'd rather play the color ROMhack of the GB version than anything Mercury Steaming Pile of Shit has ever made

  31. 2 weeks ago
    Anonymous

    too bloated, drags on for too long
    the original was wonderfully tight and focused.
    aether powers are lame, diggernaut just pads time, most of the environments are unenjoyable to navigate so instead they band-aided this with zillions of teleporters and an overly detailed, always visible map
    also the unnecessary ridley fight at the end ruins the ending.

    • 2 weeks ago
      Anonymous

      >the original was wonderfully tight and focused.
      >several points where you have to trek down a long corridor just to kill a single metroid then go all the way back

      • 2 weeks ago
        Anonymous

        pure
        ludo

      • 2 weeks ago
        Anonymous

        But bro it's a t m o s p h e r i c

  32. 2 weeks ago
    Anonymous

    Pretty fun and complains about the counter are completely overblown when the Missile + Ice Beam combo replaces it very early as the best way to defeat enemies.

  33. 2 weeks ago
    Anonymous

    It walked so Dread could run.

  34. 2 weeks ago
    Anonymous

    Solid game, not the best, but was pretty fun

  35. 2 weeks ago
    Anonymous

    Why do so many people act like the counter is even needed? I maybe used it 10 times over the course of both games.
    >the game sucks because of this gimmick that can be completely ignored!

    • 2 weeks ago
      Anonymous

      >noooo stop pointing out the flaws!!! You can le ignore them

      • 2 weeks ago
        Anonymous

        It's not really pointing out a flaw if all you have to say about it is "I don't like it".

        • 2 weeks ago
          Anonymous

          Everything that I dislike in games is a flaw.

        • 2 weeks ago
          Anonymous

          There was no reason to add it

  36. 2 weeks ago
    Anonymous

    Anyone else like all 3 versions of metroid 2?

  37. 2 weeks ago
    Anonymous

    Dread proves without a shadow of a doubt that Samus Returns was shit. There's no reason to defend it anymore.

  38. 2 weeks ago
    Anonymous

    Didn't like it. I just couldn't finish it.
    Had low expectations for Dread when I heard mercury soft was making it because of Samus Returns. I was actually leaning towards not buying Dread because of it.
    Glad I was wrong and they ended up making Dread good.

  39. 2 weeks ago
    Anonymous

    Decent is a single word. Now to break your rule and mention AM2R, both games were decent remakes that took much needed liberties with the original.

  40. 2 weeks ago
    Anonymous

    I didn't mind it. I liked the counter system. I do remember needing to use a certain move in order to get 100%, but the game never teaches you it. 7/10.

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *