The Talos Principle 2 is a massive flop despite the high praise and high review scores, what happened?

The Talos Principle 2 is a massive flop despite the high praise and high review scores, what happened?

Shopping Cart Returner Shirt $21.68

Ape Out Shirt $21.68

Shopping Cart Returner Shirt $21.68

  1. 2 weeks ago
    Anonymous

    I didn't want another one

  2. 2 weeks ago
    Anonymous

    Lack of marketing pretty much
    I bet you could go talk to most people who loved the first game and they'd be surprised there is a sequel

  3. 2 weeks ago
    Anonymous

    >unreal engine 5
    >worse puzzles than the first game
    >forced dialogue/story sections
    >star puzzles are terrible and there are are barely any easter eggs
    Didn't even bother finishing it and I love the first one. The environments and riven like transport were kinda cool I guess.

    • 2 weeks ago
      Anonymous

      By being overall worse than its predecessor, as already broke down.

    • 2 weeks ago
      Anonymous

      Same

    • 2 weeks ago
      Anonymous

      Hear hear

    • 2 weeks ago
      Anonymous

      I think 2 has overall better puzzles than 1. They're more compact (less jammer routine for example), and the difficulty curve is more even. The only criticisms I have are the lack of Rewind, and how the difficulty plateaus by the end.
      I like both stories equally, and I appreciate how different they are

      • 2 weeks ago
        Anonymous

        One interesting thing about the difficulty curve is I feel like there are a lot more "breather" puzzles throughout TP2, where TP1 gives you chunks of more or less equally difficult puzzles. I actually prefer TP2's pacing here, makes it more enjoyable to play in longer sittings. There was one zone in the desert (the coastal one) that was overall too damn easy, but outside of that I thought it the curve fine

        • 2 weeks ago
          Anonymous

          I think making the Teleporter area easier might even be a deliberate pacing choice, since it's the start of a new section, and the previous one with the item prison things is probably one of the most difficult ones

  4. 2 weeks ago
    Anonymous

    I think it's just that the system requirements are too high which turned a lot of people off. It's a shame because it's a great game.

    • 2 weeks ago
      Anonymous

      That's the main reason why I didn't buy it. Talos Principle 1 is one of my favourite games of all time but I wasn't going to buy a sequel that would rape my PC

    • 2 weeks ago
      Anonymous

      You can always just lower the settings and play at 30 fps, it's a puzzle game. Still not worth playing for other reason though.

  5. 2 weeks ago
    Anonymous

    both games are relatively successful and cheap to make, there isn't much to talk about with puzzle games

  6. 2 weeks ago
    Anonymous

    Puzzle games are a huge filter for casuals and morons like me.

  7. 2 weeks ago
    Anonymous

    Is this just following the Steam Deck model of "Start a thread by claiming a thing is flopping?" Because from what I can tell sales were fine for a somewhat niche puzzle game.

    Anyway this game was pretty great, I think the puzzles overall were better and smoother than TP1 and the new gimmicks were enjoyable. It might have had too many easy puzzles in it though, and so many of the star puzzles were so obnoxious that stars weren't really worth pursuing at all. It would be nice if they had little rewards for doing certain numbers of them instead of just locking a cutscene behind 100%, then it would feel like the less lame ones were worth doing.

    • 2 weeks ago
      Anonymous

      >Anyway this game was pretty great, I think the puzzles overall were better and smoother than TP1 and the new gimmicks were enjoyable.
      I disagree, while I think the new gimmicks are good, there arent just enough puzzles to actually do anything hard with them since the first 2 are just introducing them and the other ones arent that much harder, only the last world (not the one inside the pyramid) had something I was stuck on.
      There is a DLC coming out I think so I hope those puzzles are actually hard like road to gehenna

  8. 2 weeks ago
    Anonymous

    >Excellent atmosphere
    >Braindead easy puzzles
    I'm conflicted. It was overall an okay game, but it left me wanting a challenge.

    • 2 weeks ago
      Anonymous

      everyone on Ganker is a genius who apparently solved all the star puzzles instantly and didnt use any guides

  9. 2 weeks ago
    Anonymous

    I have too many games to play and puzzle games that are difficult and inaccessible aren't at the top of the list.

    It legitimately looks interesting though

    • 2 weeks ago
      Anonymous

      >difficult and inaccessible
      lol no. This might be an interesting challenge if you're a total puzzle game moron but it's nothing like the difficulty of something like Baba Is You. TP is just one step above Portal, really

      • 2 weeks ago
        Anonymous

        Portal is easy to pick up and play though, drop and revisit days later. Talos seems a bit more involved than that to me with all the different zones and shit or maybe I'm wrong

        • 2 weeks ago
          Anonymous

          Yeah you're wrong. If anything it's easier to drop and revisit this game because the puzzle rooms are all separate challenges rather than parts of large levels

  10. 2 weeks ago
    Anonymous

    Switching from the serious engine to unreal was a mistake.
    I'm guessing they hired new puzzle designers as well because they suck.

  11. 2 weeks ago
    Anonymous

    The story is pretty fricking stupid for one. Puzzles didn't seem to evolve much past the first one.

  12. 2 weeks ago
    Anonymous

    ITT says puzzles are harder in Talos 1 but how much of the story/philosophy would I miss by just playing Talos 2 and skipping the first game?

    • 2 weeks ago
      Anonymous

      You'd be much better off playing 1 and skipping 2.

    • 2 weeks ago
      Anonymous

      You wouldn't miss anything, but only because Talos 2 really bludgeons you over the head with the story and philosophy of both games.

      • 2 weeks ago
        Anonymous

        Hmm. I might just play Talos 2 first and maybe later go back to Talos 1 then. I want a puzzle game but I don't want a super hard one tbh.

        • 2 weeks ago
          Anonymous

          It's not that Talos 1 is hard and 2 is easier, it's that 1 has a normal difficulty curve that starts at easy and ramps up to challenging with hard optional content and 2's difficulty starts at "solvable by toddlers" and peaks at "may stump a toddler for a couple minutes"

    • 2 weeks ago
      Anonymous

      Do yourself a favor and just play the first game.

    • 2 weeks ago
      Anonymous

      You'd be much better off playing 2 and skipping 1.

      Unironically, 2 tells you what you need to know about 1 and covers broader topics. It also feels less reddit in general

    • 2 weeks ago
      Anonymous

      Talos 1 is just a nicer experience overall.

  13. 2 weeks ago
    Anonymous

    Is it a flop because it didn't make its money back or because it's niche? What makes it a flop?

  14. 2 weeks ago
    Anonymous

    Talos Principle 2 felt like it had 3 different teams working on it that all wanted different things and the puzzle designers got the leftover budget.

  15. 2 weeks ago
    Anonymous

    >Box pushing puzzles game
    No. Having that shit in video games was a negative for 20 god damn years, it isn't suddenly a good thing.

  16. 2 weeks ago
    Anonymous

    Serious Engine 4 had a horrendous debut, but it's still sad to see another studio kill a part of their identity in favor of unreal sloppa.

  17. 2 weeks ago
    Anonymous

    it's not a flop, it's just not a runaway success

    • 2 weeks ago
      Anonymous

      It also has genuine substance to it, so it will probably keep selling without the need for constant marketing

  18. 2 weeks ago
    Anonymous

    i stopped playing cause it runs shit on my pc so i'm waiting a few years

  19. 2 weeks ago
    Anonymous

    I almost never pre-order or buy games at launch but I got this day 1 and thought it was great. Completed it and have never really wanted to play it again or even talk about it that much tbh. Make of that what you will.

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *