What if they made a modern day sequel to The Critic but Jay's son Marty is in his 30s and he reviews video games?

What if they made a modern day sequel to The Critic but Jay's son Marty is in his 30s and he reviews video games?

CRIME Shirt $21.68

Black Rifle Cuck Company, Conservative Humor Shirt $21.68

CRIME Shirt $21.68

  1. 2 weeks ago
    Anonymous

    no one would care because theres like tens of thousands of people and more every minute doing that on youtube

  2. 2 weeks ago
    Anonymous

    Yeah, the thing is being any kind of critic at all at the time wasn't just a case of being a jerk with a youtube account. You needed to get other people to host your ass.

    • 2 weeks ago
      Anonymous

      well, it would feel less sad replacing the voice if the character had grown up..
      buuut I dunno that Marty is all that interesting a character. I mean, relevant to today's issues, sure. But not the backbone of a good story.

      indeed, i mean YouTube makes Duke Phillips look like a great boss by comparison, but they don't come by and harass you in person, they just behave like someone swapped their "how to run a business" book with "how to RUIN a business" which sounds like an easy mistake to make, except it's written in chinese because the author was mao. So that.... that kinda shadowy shit makes less of a good tv show. God damn I miss Duke. Really they can never do more The Critic. No Duke, no Doris, I assume the people playing Jay's parents are dead now...

      • 2 weeks ago
        Anonymous

        >I assume the people playing Jay's parents are dead now
        Both still alive apparently, they weren’t actually that old, just putting on old people voices. That said the characters should absolutely be dead by now if it was set in the present day.

    • 2 weeks ago
      Anonymous

      >Jay finds himself increasingly irrelevant since people using his same hyper critical shtick are doing his job on YouTube for free
      It might be kind of an interesting angle since media criticism is something the internet has changed so much. I wonder what he’d realistically be doing these days. I feel like he’d have been too stuck in his ways and missed the boat with YouTube. Writing more books, maybe?

  3. 2 weeks ago
    Anonymous

    Just wouldn't be the same

  4. 2 weeks ago
    Anonymous

    That said, games are pretty ripe for parody right now
    it's just I doubt Maurice LaMarche can easily acclimate himself enough to what games sound like, the way he has that encyclopedic knowledge of 20th century performers. There's not gonna be It's Reyn Time or So Long Gay Bowser gags in his repertoire

  5. 2 weeks ago
    Anonymous

    What if they made a live-action modern day sequel to The Critic about Jay's son Doug?

  6. 2 weeks ago
    Anonymous

    Duke Phillips would leave his company to one of his bastard offspring but only after a battle royale so the strongest gets it (the winner hired mercenaries).

    • 2 weeks ago
      Anonymous

      with this one sentence you've proven you're a better writer and you understand the source material better than the entire crew behind " " "season 3" " "

  7. 2 weeks ago
    Anonymous

    >Marty dates a girl but finds out she's an indie developer for a game he gave a good review and tries to flee the country

  8. 2 weeks ago
    Anonymous

    I think hosting a podcast (based on TV/Movies) would be more sutiable.
    In fact I remeber they did webisodes with a similar premise although the joke there was that nobody watched 'internet shows'.

  9. 2 weeks ago
    Anonymous

    You need good writers and VAs. The Critic started off with animation that cut a lot of corners, lines obviously not fitting the lips of the characters speaking, and two VAs doing the majority of celebrity impressions. It was carried by good voice work and great writing. You get that down and you can make a good show like The Critic.

    • 2 weeks ago
      Anonymous

      damn straight

      >I assume the people playing Jay's parents are dead now
      Both still alive apparently, they weren’t actually that old, just putting on old people voices. That said the characters should absolutely be dead by now if it was set in the present day.

      Oh, bully! Well, nothing's going to be able to kill off Franklin "I add lead paint to my chinese food because it's sub-gun chicken" and Eleanor "literally makes soup out of her face every day" Sherman

  10. 2 weeks ago
    Anonymous

    I still don't get this "let's pretend this one off Simpsons character had his own show" meme

  11. 2 weeks ago
    Anonymous

    >Your job is to rate films on a scale of "Good to Great"
    >But what if I don't like them
    >That's what "Good" is for

    • 2 weeks ago
      Anonymous

      it IS pretty relevant for games journalism, aint it

    • 2 weeks ago
      Anonymous

      it IS pretty relevant for games journalism, aint it

      heh

  12. 2 weeks ago
    Anonymous

    It would stink

  13. 2 weeks ago
    Anonymous

    So a less raunchy AVGN? Uhh Irate Gamer?

  14. 2 weeks ago
    Anonymous

    Feels like an AVGN cartoon

    • 2 weeks ago
      Anonymous

      Also the Nostalgia Critic.

  15. 2 weeks ago
    Anonymous

    What would Margo even be up to?

    • 2 weeks ago
      Anonymous

      Transitioning

      • 2 weeks ago
        Anonymous

        do you feel good about the feelings you incite in others

        What would Margo even be up to?

        she's a mom with frickin nine kids, with a wonderfully eccentric husband played by, oh, are any of lovitz's friends still alive?

  16. 2 weeks ago
    Anonymous

    The Critic would never work today. In the 90s, a major critic could still potentially make or break a movie, especially in the decades before. Bosley Crowther had that reputation, and then it was Pauline Kael, and then it was Siskel and Ebert. Name one famous film critic who started their career after 2000. You'll probably struggle. Two reasons why.

    1) Internet, everyone's voice is amplified, social media echo chambers.

    2) Movies aren't special anymore, they're easily accessible and most are based on tentpole IPs and franchises.

    Now that's not to say people don't pay attention to film critics at all, people seem to defer to Rotten Tomatoes scores. Why that is I have no idea, because a 95% approval rating could mean that 95% critics thought it was "not bad, just okay". What's the line drawn for what makes a review "rotten" or "fresh"? And you might also see the occasional social media trend where some dumb influencer gave their hot take on a movie and stirred people up. But individual film critics? No way. That ship has sailed.

    • 2 weeks ago
      Anonymous

      i love that rotten tomatoes was caught doing fraud and nothing happened, they weren't shut down, people just went back to business as usual "oh it's okay, they caught it and fixed it"

      • 2 weeks ago
        Anonymous

        >doing fraud
        Quick run down.

        • 2 weeks ago
          Anonymous

          i don't keep track of these things, they have to pay rent if they want to live in my head
          people were bribing them for higher reviews, or to lower the reviews of the competition etc

    • 2 weeks ago
      Anonymous

      You're missing the biggest issue, there's no way they could be topical. It was easier to have a bunch of relevant parodies because people would actually talk about movies for a longer amount of time. Now you're lucky if the movie is relevant by the end of the week.

      • 2 weeks ago
        Anonymous

        Hell, as it is, The Critic was like "haha what if a jurassic park 2" and later "oh. er um, what if a 3"
        that Simpsons Radioactive Man episode did one better by perfectly reflecting the state of superhero movies.... some time _after_ it aired.

        • 2 weeks ago
          Anonymous

          >The Simpsons
          >Radioactive Man
          Remember that old exec that wanted to bring back Radioactive Man's original actor despite being reminded a million time's he's long dead? It was supposed to be a joke, but a couple decades later in comes the DC movie universe using crusty old men and deepfakes of long-dead actors.

          • 2 weeks ago
            Anonymous

            that's more of a stretch, I just meant like, Batman Forever had not come out yet, the age of superhero movies might have been a little extravagant sometimes, but they weren't as silly and tone-deaf with casting yet.

      • 2 weeks ago
        Anonymous

        what does it look like if they write a barbenheimer episode

        • 2 weeks ago
          Anonymous

          Outdated

      • 2 weeks ago
        Anonymous

        The other problem is that now it seems that everyone only cares about established IP movies.

  17. 2 weeks ago
    Anonymous

    I'd rather watch a 1-hour TV movie that takes place in present day and has Jay reacting to the current state of Hollywood and media. Probably ripe for gags and commentary there without overstaying its welcome if it was full-on reboot.

    So like the Rocko movie but good.

    • 2 weeks ago
      Anonymous

      John Lovitz could use the money.

      • 2 weeks ago
        Anonymous

        he'll never be poor because he punched phil hartman's accessory-to-murder in the mouth on TV and his life has gone to absolute shit to the point he's living in a trailer and just fricking men for food money. you can't buy riches like that at any bank.
        plus his ability to slum it could come in handy, since a composer friend of his does twitch streams I enjoy, and he's said he's gonna try to get lovitz on sometime

        • 2 weeks ago
          Anonymous

          Andy's life went to shit i mean. so Jon is alright. Too many pronouns in that sentence.

  18. 2 weeks ago
    Anonymous

    If he was one guy from a group very similar to Red Letter media then it might be good. Then you can do just straight cynical humor and still do reviews. Jay is already 90% of what Mike is, just needs to booze up more.

    • 2 weeks ago
      Anonymous

      if only Jay had friends
      he can't very well do a review show with the australian guy

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *