What was your go to source for video game reviews in the 2000s?

What was your go to source for video game reviews in the 2000s?

It's All Fucked Shirt $22.14

CRIME Shirt $21.68

It's All Fucked Shirt $22.14

  1. 3 weeks ago
    Anonymous

    The historied experienced tried and true computational system located entirely within the craniole also known as the cerebrum

  2. 3 weeks ago
    Anonymous

    Giant Bomb at its peak was the closest we got to the Top Gear of gaming, to bad it all went to shit after Ryan died

    • 3 weeks ago
      Anonymous

      I can't believe they're still around.

    • 3 weeks ago
      Anonymous
    • 3 weeks ago
      Anonymous

      >the tiny spark of hope when they got rid of klepcu ck and hired dan
      dan was a moron but he was able to drag Jeff into doing stuff again

    • 3 weeks ago
      Anonymous

      so, a bunch of cringe old men reading a script pretending to be "mad lads"?

      • 3 weeks ago
        Anonymous

        ?t=4s

      • 3 weeks ago
        Anonymous

        you could have just said that you have never watched anything with jeremy clarkson in it but you have to be a homosexual didn't you

        • 3 weeks ago
          Anonymous

          Literally who

  3. 3 weeks ago
    Anonymous

    Angry Joe. Now I don't really give a shit and only watch certain people review games for comedy, instead of any intent to actually buy or avoid them.

    • 3 weeks ago
      Anonymous

      I don't watch Angry Joe anymore.

      A lot of his anger these days comes off as forced and contrived
      . His reviews are typically delayed so he can keep an eye on public sentiment so he doesn't post anything against the grain and anger his fanbase.

  4. 3 weeks ago
    Anonymous

    I liked x play.

  5. 3 weeks ago
    Anonymous

    CheatCC

  6. 3 weeks ago
    Anonymous
    • 3 weeks ago
      Anonymous

      why did he dissappeared?

      • 3 weeks ago
        Anonymous

        >did disappeared

        ESL moron

      • 3 weeks ago
        Anonymous

        he is back

    • 3 weeks ago
      Anonymous

      Don't care for ecelebs but I liked watching Mark and the crew back in the day.

  7. 3 weeks ago
    Anonymous

    my big brother and he was right 9/10 times

  8. 3 weeks ago
    Anonymous

    I liked gametrailers I think

    • 3 weeks ago
      Anonymous

      Same, gametrailers was great and had a lot of gameplay vids. Screwattack was fun too.

  9. 3 weeks ago
    Anonymous

    My friends.

    • 3 weeks ago
      Anonymous

      my friends had shit taste

  10. 3 weeks ago
    Anonymous

    Mainly magazines. I've never really cared about reviews. I read/watch them for facts, not opinions. Previews were much more interesting back in the day. The game is out, we already know what it is. Any massive garbage about a game traveled by word of mouth before we went to the store to buy a game.

    To anyone below age 25, we were forced to speak to people in the past. There wasn't even an option to digitally download anything. Back when Pokemon gen1 came out, some kids didn't get the game for a week, because they had to wait for their parents to take them to the store. If you were below 16 (usa), you needed a ride to buy a game. This meant you went to school and everyone talked about the game before they bought it. I think that's why we have trash broken games actually being sold in large numbers these days. Pre-ordering and insta-downloads ruined gaming, maybe?

    • 3 weeks ago
      Anonymous

      I would look up reviews a lot of the time when renting something like picrelated that didn't get an incredible amount of pre-release hype. Saw a trailer on X-Play once and that was it.

    • 3 weeks ago
      Anonymous

      I just stopped pre ordering games that my buddy isnt super excited for.
      I can just wait. Im having fun with palworld.

  11. 3 weeks ago
    Anonymous

    i was too cool to let other people's dumb opinions influence my choice in the title i'd want my mommy to buy for me.

  12. 3 weeks ago
    Anonymous

    Gaming magazines like GamePro or Game Informer now that I think about it. My family used to travel all the time so I pretty much exclusively got one at one of those airport stores to read on the plane and collect. Later on I moved on to youtube reviewers or rock paper shotgun

    • 3 weeks ago
      Anonymous

      A chunk of games were unplayable shit but just going through one of these bad boys over and over again really got my mind going imagining what it was like to play these games

      It's been a long time since I've really felt hyped up for something, got the game, and I still felt all the excitement until I got to the end

  13. 3 weeks ago
    Anonymous

    Zero Punctuation. I haven't watched his new (old) stuff but might since when he likes a game I usually like it too

  14. 3 weeks ago
    Anonymous

    >video game reviews
    >in 2000s
    lol homosexual you bought a magazine and read the game cover what the frick are you talking about or play whatever was on the console at the store

    • 3 weeks ago
      Anonymous

      Gamespot and IGN have been around since 1996. What are you talking about?

      • 3 weeks ago
        Anonymous

        thats my point
        only homosexuals care about reviews
        you didnt buy a magazine for any review only for the new games to save up money to

        I guess if you were 6 years old? I'm 37 anon.

        same

        • 3 weeks ago
          Anonymous

          Did they just not have home internet in Sri Lanka in the 2000s or am I just stupefied by your post entirely?

          • 3 weeks ago
            Anonymous

            go rate my post 7.8 since you like reviews so much

            • 3 weeks ago
              Anonymous

              that was pretty good

    • 3 weeks ago
      Anonymous

      I guess if you were 6 years old? I'm 37 anon.

  15. 3 weeks ago
    Anonymous

    Gamespot. I haven't been there since the late 00s.

  16. 3 weeks ago
    Anonymous

    GoodGame, that was until Hex joined the program and I fingered her the nightclub.

  17. 3 weeks ago
    Anonymous

    Official xbox magazine until Halo 3 came out. After they gave it their first 10/10 I unsubscribed because I knew it was going to be paid reviews from then on.
    I liked halo 3 but it sure as frick wasn't a perfect game.
    They were one of the few publications that gave out decimal point reviews so there was a difference between games with a 9.0 and a 9.5 etc. with 10/10 presumably being perfect.

    • 3 weeks ago
      Anonymous

      God I miss demo discs

    • 3 weeks ago
      Anonymous

      they sucked off advent rising too iirc

  18. 3 weeks ago
    Anonymous

    Gamespot and Old Man Murray.

  19. 3 weeks ago
    Anonymous

    I listened to gfw radio, it was fun.

    • 3 weeks ago
      Anonymous

      I loved GFW radio, didn't even play pc games when I first started listening to it. 1up Yours was also entertaining. I miss that era of podcasts.

  20. 3 weeks ago
    Anonymous

    Gamepro, egm, game informer, judgeme t day on g4

  21. 3 weeks ago
    my blog, my rules.

    Before the internet? My school friends and local vidya magazines (both were terrible, but at least they discussed videogames).

    After that? RPGCodex and unironically Ganker, both from 2008 to 2012. If it isn't shilled to death by paid neets and pajeets, none will ever discuss vidya organically.

    Money killed the internet. Period.

    Frick ameriisraelites and frick Black folk.

  22. 3 weeks ago
    Anonymous

    PS Magazine. I wasn't online back then

  23. 3 weeks ago
    Anonymous

    Gamespot I guess

  24. 3 weeks ago
    Anonymous

    Gametrailers and that homosexual brit from Escapist Magazine.
    Not proud of that, but hey.

  25. 3 weeks ago
    Anonymous

    I don't think I've ever read a review beyond looking at the final score. I bought magazines only for the goodies they came with, demo discs, posters, cheats and to see which games were coming out in the future.

  26. 3 weeks ago
    Anonymous
    • 3 weeks ago
      Anonymous

      >Kevin VanOrd

  27. 3 weeks ago
    Anonymous

    Gamerankings, neogaf, Ganker, gametrailers

  28. 3 weeks ago
    Anonymous

    Screwattack. I miss that site like you wouldn't believe.

  29. 3 weeks ago
    Anonymous

    IGN and GameSpot. I was a dumb naive young man. Gamergate woke me up though.

    • 3 weeks ago
      Anonymous

      Was game journalism always that bad or did it get worse over time?

  30. 3 weeks ago
    Anonymous

    IGN
    Nintendo Power
    X-Play

    The 00s were such shit

    • 3 weeks ago
      Anonymous

      >The 00s were such shit
      You mean THE shit? God I miss that decade like you wouldn't believe. The last period in human history that wasn't completely gay and moronic.

      • 3 weeks ago
        Anonymous

        The only thing bad about the modern era is that corporations have successfully commoditized mental illness (nostalgia) so that they can repackage and resell you the same slop forever. But of course, if you try new things now is the best.

      • 3 weeks ago
        Anonymous

        I think we may have taken those times for granted.

        • 3 weeks ago
          Anonymous

          I certainly did. I try to be more grateful for what I have now, but sometimes you just really never know what you have till it's gone...

        • 3 weeks ago
          Anonymous

          >graph steadily rises as soon as the iPhone is launched

          Apple and it's consequences have been a disaster for the human race.

          Recently unearthed a chest of old PSM magazines, it's kinda of fun to flip through and the old sense of humour was great.

          I love how insanely raunchy the ADs were back then. They really knew how to make bank on horny teenagers.

        • 3 weeks ago
          Anonymous

          >post-9/11 better than 80s
          yeah sure OK buddy

  31. 3 weeks ago
    Anonymous

    EGM

  32. 3 weeks ago
    Anonymous

    >HEY FIDDY!!

  33. 3 weeks ago
    Anonymous

    G4TV pretty much.

    maybe the odd random game mag that i'd pick up.

  34. 3 weeks ago
    Anonymous

    As a Hispanic kid who didn't know english at the time, i watched a show on MTV called Joystickeros, it was fun because the guy clearly knew about games and gave a shit, he invited latam voice actors and interviewed devs, so he was fun to watch

  35. 3 weeks ago
    Anonymous

    Recently unearthed a chest of old PSM magazines, it's kinda of fun to flip through and the old sense of humour was great.

  36. 3 weeks ago
    Anonymous

    I had a game magazine that had a walkthrough for metal gear solid and another mag with a walkthrough for zelda ocarina of time.

    I used to read them every day cause it was fun.

    I had OoT but never had MGS.

  37. 3 weeks ago
    Anonymous

    >game mag has a cheat code section

  38. 3 weeks ago
    Anonymous

    >that one friend that bought zone of the enders but let you borrow the mgs2 demo disc
    man we got so duped by kojima

    • 3 weeks ago
      Anonymous

      Into what? Playing a masterpiece? What a devious bastard.

      • 3 weeks ago
        Anonymous

        nah I mean everyone who played the demo thought it would be snake as the antogonist. the demo only included an early part of the tanker chapter and me and my homies replayed the shit out of it

        • 3 weeks ago
          Anonymous

          I mean, SOLIDUS Snake was the antagonist so you were kinda right.

  39. 3 weeks ago
    Anonymous

    Gamespot obviously. game informer as a close second.

  40. 3 weeks ago
    Anonymous

    I meant protagonist but yeah Kojima fooled us all

  41. 3 weeks ago
    Anonymous

    only the best mag on the market

    • 3 weeks ago
      Anonymous
    • 3 weeks ago
      Anonymous
      • 3 weeks ago
        Anonymous

        >german game reviews
        >by ahmet isaturk

        the more things change, the more they stay the same.

        • 3 weeks ago
          Anonymous

          the guy was based as frick

          • 3 weeks ago
            Anonymous
    • 3 weeks ago
      Anonymous

      Reminds me of those thick, monthly, German PC mags.

      >over 100 pages of awesomeness
      >always came with a CD/DVD filled with full games and demos and promo material

      Every month it was like Christmas, we didn't know how good we had it till it was gone. Those really were the best of times before the collapse.

  42. 3 weeks ago
    Anonymous

    >What was your go to source for video game reviews in the 2000s?
    same as it ever was: pirating everything and playing games for myself.

  43. 3 weeks ago
    Anonymous

    played games since the mid 1980s never really paid much attention to reviews outside of a few mags/times in history that had good reviews

    the best reviews in the 2000s were actually posted by gametrailers.com

  44. 3 weeks ago
    Anonymous

    G4TV

  45. 3 weeks ago
    Anonymous

    PC Gamer
    MegaTokyo forums

  46. 3 weeks ago
    Anonymous

    Jeff wrote a good article in his last days at Giant Bomb about the state of modern game reviews. Worth reading.
    >https://www.giantbomb.com/reviews/halo-infinite-review/1900-800/

    • 3 weeks ago
      Anonymous

      you can tell how much to ignore somebody about video games by if they ever mention this jeff guy or giantbomb

      if you mention them-- you dont know shit and are the type of person who gets told your opinions

      • 3 weeks ago
        Anonymous

        y-you too

  47. 3 weeks ago
    Anonymous

    Trusting reviews is something you should grow off past 12 years.
    Games are inherently juvenile and reviews just advertising aimed at a suggestible audience.
    One could think that the medium matured a lot since the 90s and those moronic game magazines but I still see so many people comparing Metacritic scores (and publishers using ad money to keep them as high as possible)
    Then you have streamers who went from alternative to journos to full blown paid shills in just a few years

    Trust no one, only yourself

  48. 3 weeks ago
    Anonymous

    >extremely hispanic thread

    • 3 weeks ago
      Anonymous

      chale ese im fricking on edge man serio

      Jeff wrote a good article in his last days at Giant Bomb about the state of modern game reviews. Worth reading.
      >https://www.giantbomb.com/reviews/halo-infinite-review/1900-800/

      is early giant bomb worth revisiting or will it make me drag the millenial within me outside into the yard and shoot it

      • 3 weeks ago
        Anonymous

        Old bombcasts are great to listen to. You need loads of spare time to get through them though.
        Also the Gamespot podcast the Hotspot, while holding up less well, is an interesting time capsule.

        The Persona 4 Endurance Run is still the best video series of its kind on the internet by a wide margin.
        Their other early videos were more practical, lead-ins to written reviews etc., and the early Premium stuff is pretty much pointless to watch other than the highlights on youtube (don't shake the baby, Gal Gun, pic related being hot, etc.).

        I don't know if the CBS/UPF/Vinny playing old PC games qualify as "early giant bomb" now, more mid-era imo, but that's good as well.

        • 3 weeks ago
          Anonymous

          My job is rather mind numbing anyway so some early Giant Bomb (what was it called before that, Arrow something?) will pass the time. I listen to some older than dirt O&A episodes from time to time still. Makes for an interesting contrast to the current times.

          • 3 weeks ago
            Anonymous

            >older than dirt O&A episodes
            what's O&A? surely you don't mean Opie & Anthony?
            mah homie

            • 3 weeks ago
              Anonymous

              Yeah. Got a sort of sinking feeling inside listening to the episode they bring Lazlow in to preview GTA 4. 2008 should not be as long ago as it is man.

  49. 3 weeks ago
    Anonymous

    Game Informer and Nintendo Power.

  50. 3 weeks ago
    Anonymous

    Used to watch xplay with my mom and subscribed to PSM for a few years. Wish I still had some of those magazines.

  51. 3 weeks ago
    Anonymous

    I have a stack of game informers from 2000s

  52. 3 weeks ago
    Anonymous

    In the 2000s? I wasn't even 7 years old in 2009, but what little game review stuff I did seek out was mostly in the form of youtube videos.

  53. 3 weeks ago
    Anonymous

    EGM and xplay pretty much gave me 100% of the info I had about any new or upcoming games.

  54. 3 weeks ago
    Anonymous

    I used to watch all kinds of vidya youtubers in the early 2010s and it feels like that niche really died off. Lets plays done by people who are entertaining and not completely disingenuous are hardly a thing anymore it feels like. Everyone's doing some kind of Markiplier-esque hyper exaggerated voice or they're literally completely silent. I've still got like Vinny and Woolie but that's it.

    • 3 weeks ago
      Anonymous

      I like the Ding Dong and Julian episodes of Oneyplays. Ding Dong especially tends to give rather measured opinions on things without seeming like he's playing too much of a character.

  55. 3 weeks ago
    Anonymous

    Nintendo Power and G4 and IGN and the Gamespot message board System Wars

  56. 3 weeks ago
    Anonymous

    Pc gamer and playstation magazines

  57. 3 weeks ago
    Anonymous

    >Back in the 90s, it was Gamespot TV on ZDTV
    >I also used Gamesages.com, but one day in 2000 I went to the site and it redirected to me a website I'd never heard of called IGN
    >At some point, I moved and lost access to ZDTV. So I started using Gamespot and IGN pretty frequently, with the occasional magazine.
    >G4TV started up around this time and I really enjoyed their programming like Filter, Cinematech, Icons, Electronic Playground, Judgement Day, G4tv.com (which was like early podcast)
    >then G4TV merged with TechTV (ZDTV with a name change) and they got rid of the best parts of both channels
    >around this time, video was starting to become viable on the internet and game reviewers started doing video reviews
    >I particularly enjoyed Greg Kasavin's reviews on Gamespot
    >I started using Gametrailers.com a lot as well
    >Jeff Gerstmann's 8.8 review of Twilight Princess was really controversial and did some damage to Gamespot forum community
    >Greg Kasavin left Gamespot in 2007 and then Jeff Gerstmann got fired later that year
    >Gerstmann's firing destroyed the Gamespot forums and basically ended Gamespot's near dominance of games media on the internet
    >around this time, Youtube was exploding and gave the average joe a voice in game review
    >Then everything went to shit and I don't feel like watching 4 hour long video "essays"

    • 3 weeks ago
      Anonymous

      WTF

  58. 3 weeks ago
    Anonymous

    Remember going to GameTrailers for the only free HD trailers/gameplay footage back in 2005-2008 before YouTube had HD and you had to pay a subscription for premium IGN/GameSpot to see HD video on those sites?

  59. 3 weeks ago
    Anonymous

    Videogame magazines at libraries and G4

  60. 3 weeks ago
    Anonymous

    I miss when local television had dedicated videogame shows where hosts would review games, talk about announced titles or review shit like a gadget that let you play videogames with a "webcam", also the game shows where teams would have to play videogames or live shows where you had to call and control the game with your fricking phone keyboard, it was SOVL
    Meanwhile today my tv just had a couple channels that show fricking livestreams and esports shit, like whats the point when you can do it on a computer? And then sometimes there's Dragon Ball Super for some reason but with a god-awful Polish dub

    • 3 weeks ago
      Anonymous

      I haven't watched TV (aka Talmudvision) in years, do they still show video game ads? Seems like it has become completely boomer dominated as they're the only ones till watching that crap.

  61. 3 weeks ago
    Anonymous

    my friends and g4

    neither of which exist anymore but you don't need reviews since every AAA game released in the past 15 years has been shit

  62. 3 weeks ago
    Anonymous

    Gametrailers.com
    Now they have a troon in their ranks and their reviews are non-critical corporate bootlicking

  63. 3 weeks ago
    Anonymous

    Magazines. OXMUK and PC Gamer specifically.

  64. 3 weeks ago
    Anonymous

    tv and a stack of gaymen magazines on my friend's toilet

  65. 3 weeks ago
    Anonymous

    Some Australian gaming publication that they sold in convenience stores because Indonesia SOMEHOW just happens to have them lined up on shelves as they come out.

  66. 3 weeks ago
    Anonymous

    millenials didnt need homosexuals to tell them what to think about vidya.

  67. 3 weeks ago
    Anonymous

    OOOH TAKE ME BACK

  68. 3 weeks ago
    Anonymous

    EGM, GameInformer, Gamepro, basically none of the dedicated console brand mags (like the Nintendo Magazine or the XBox, however I sometimes would get the PS mags depending on what they are covering).
    As much as I used to read for the reviews, I just cared about the coverage, even some of the editorial staff opinions.
    I still have my collection of mags as far as 2003 I believe, maybe I will do some posts about them in a dedicated gaming magazine thread.
    And then of course G4TV was my go to as well for E3 coverage mainly.
    Then I moved on to websites, I don't exactly remember which one was the first I visited but Gametrailers back in 2005 was the one I used to frequent the most until the day it shut down, I still miss that site.
    Now it's here mostly, shit I don't even bother with youtube for games anymore, I just missed when I used to go to any store that was open past midnight with my cousin and just start reading about gaming for like hours.

    • 3 weeks ago
      Anonymous

      I'm not reading all that

      • 3 weeks ago
        Anonymous

        ok

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *