Whats the hardest youve been burnt by a magazine review?

What’s the hardest you’ve been burnt by a magazine review? Any publisher that fills the pages with adds can get themselves an easy 9/10 so there’s definitely some poor sap that got suckered in by a flashy cover and high score

POSIWID: The Purpose Of A System Is What It Does Shirt $21.68

Unattended Children Pitbull Club Shirt $21.68

POSIWID: The Purpose Of A System Is What It Does Shirt $21.68

  1. 3 weeks ago
    Anonymous

    First two that came to mind were Tomb Raider 2 (I know I'm in the minority) and Power Move Pro wrestling. Every magazine said it was the best wrestling game ever and jazzed it up. It is one of the top five worst games I've ever played.

  2. 3 weeks ago
    Anonymous

    While not as bad as Mortal Kombat, Eternal Champions was on the covers of Sega Visions and EGM. Based on that alone, I blind purchased it as a birthday gift to my cousins, and it was so bad they returned it to me, and here it is, a game so bad I can't even give it away. I guess it was my fault since I didn't research it as much as I would a game I'd get for myself, but I knew my cousins already had SF2, and something new that was marketed as "limit pushing" for the hardware and had pages and pages dedicated to the game should be great, I was naive in thinking all the coverage is a lot of hype.

    • 3 weeks ago
      Anonymous

      It only happens with modern games for me

      It's not that bad imo. It's hard but you're not really supposed to play it like Street Fighter anyway

    • 3 weeks ago
      Anonymous

      Shadow's theme on Sega CD is a fricking BANGER tho: https://youtu.be/PWve2cA6eyE?si=R-xnyxoHpSyEVHTp&t=126

  3. 3 weeks ago
    Anonymous

    I couldn't afford game mags as a kid and I didn't have friends who had it (they were even poorer than me). I only could find some dedicated pages in random mags and newspapers, they were usually covering a single game and giving it a pretty honest, fair review.

    I finally started buying mags when I turned 14 and got a lot of good games by their recommendations. The only time I've got disappointed was the time when I bought Singles 2: Triple Trouble. It was advertised like "Sims with sex, where you can make a threesome with two chicks". And while you could actually do that in game, it was just one small feature and the rest of the gameplay was pretty meh.

    • 3 weeks ago
      Anonymous

      I couldn't afford them either but I had PC Gamer inexplicably showing up in the mailbox, we didn't even have a PC when it started.

      • 3 weeks ago
        Anonymous

        >PC Gamer inexplicably showing up in the mailbox

        What the frick. Maybe someone on your neighborhood was subscribed onto it, or a person with the same name elsewhere and they've got the address wrong, although i'm not sure if there is a chance of that.

        I could even pick a magazine from a trash can as a kid, but no one ever went and disposed them like that.

        • 3 weeks ago
          Anonymous

          > or a person with the same name elsewhere and they've got the address wrong, although i'm not sure if there is a chance of that.

          In my country if it's a house (not an appartment), it doesn't matter if the name on the letter is wrong, as long as the address is correct the mail is delivered to that address regardless of name and it's how the regulation works.

          t. I was a postman

  4. 3 weeks ago
    Anonymous

    >Mega Man X7 gets reviewed by some magazine
    >they b***h about how it's just another Mega Man X game
    >I happen to love Mega Man X1-X6, beg my mom for a PS2 so I can play X7
    >I play X7
    I had to pretend I really loved it or I'd have been in so much trouble.

    • 3 weeks ago
      Anonymous

      Someone made a romhack that fixes some issues, I've never played X so I can't really attest to it but it's called N's Edition.

      • 3 weeks ago
        Anonymous

        I can't tell what's meant to be improved, this still looks like a really bad game.

        • 3 weeks ago
          Anonymous

          Read the video description.

          Also a YT channel called "J's Reviews" does a video talking about his experience with the hack and had a much more pleasant time with the game

    • 3 weeks ago
      Anonymous

      This happened to me with Unlimited Saga.
      >Lots of people hate SaGa Frontier 2.
      >Find a cheap used copy of the game.
      >Enjoy it a lot.
      >Unlimited SaGa appears. According to press, it's garbage.
      >"Frick them, they also complained about SaGa Frontier 2 and I liked it".
      >Buy Unlimited Saga.
      >It's worthless garbage.
      I still ignore reviewers, but you can never be sure you're going to enjoy a game.

  5. 3 weeks ago
    Anonymous

    It's not the worst thing ever, but Eternal Champions for the Mega Drive was a very flawed game I shouldn't have bought. Yet, the magazine I used to buy gave it a very high score and depicted it as SF2s rival. Trusting them was my mistake. To be fair, I don't think most fighting games for Mega Drive and Super Nintendo are that good, but there were still better options, like the Mega Drive port of Samurai Shodown. I discarded SF2 because two of my friends already owned it and I had played it a lot, but it would also have been a much better choice.
    Virgin’s Aladdin also disappointed me and I still think there were better games available, although in this case my opinion has softened over the years. It has great graphics and animations, and after having suffered things like The Lion King or Taz-Mania, I can appreciate its gameplay as being at least good enough.

  6. 3 weeks ago
    Anonymous

    In the 90's I rented and traded in games, I've never used reviews if it looks interesting I go out of my way to play it.

  7. 3 weeks ago
    Anonymous

    >Reading vidya magazines

    • 3 weeks ago
      Anonymous

      It's how you kept up with the scene back in the day, buddy.

    • 3 weeks ago
      Anonymous

      That was before internet.
      It was our only source of information.

  8. 3 weeks ago
    Anonymous

    How much did they give it? Do you have a scan of the review?

  9. 3 weeks ago
    Anonymous

    Was the golden X award even real?

    • 3 weeks ago
      Anonymous

      Yes

  10. 3 weeks ago
    Anonymous

    .

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *