Whats your "unpopular Pokmon opinion?"

Whats your "unpopular Pokémon opinion?"

Schizophrenic Conspiracy Theorist Shirt $21.68

Homeless People Are Sexy Shirt $21.68

Schizophrenic Conspiracy Theorist Shirt $21.68

  1. 3 months ago
    Anonymous

    After catching Ogerpon, the MC must release her. That's it!

  2. 3 months ago
    Anonymous

    i dont like most pokemon designs starting with gen 5 and i dont like most of the games starting with gen 7

    • 3 months ago
      Anonymous

      That's not unpopular

  3. 3 months ago
    Anonymous

    All of the Sinnoh games outside of PLA are easy contenders for worst games in the series

    • 3 months ago
      Anonymous

      THANK YOU

    • 3 months ago
      Anonymous

      This is neither unpopular nor true.
      An opinion that would be both true and unpopular would be saying DP are in the top 10 best pokemon games of all time (they are).

      • 3 months ago
        Anonymous

        DP were genuinely shit dude

        • 3 months ago
          Anonymous

          Better than any game with moronic shiny odds and paywalled transfer.
          Better than any game without abilities.

    • 3 months ago
      Anonymous

      Yep

    • 3 months ago
      Anonymous

      PLA also sucked.

      https://i.imgur.com/OW8cmB9.jpg

      Whats your "unpopular Pokémon opinion?"

      Kanto shilling starting in Gen 6 onwards saved the franchise.

    • 3 months ago
      Anonymous

      True, finally someone said it!

      https://i.imgur.com/OW8cmB9.jpg

      Whats your "unpopular Pokémon opinion?"

      Attract should work on same gender, you should be able to change your pokemon’s gender and there should be a non binary option for character selection

  4. 3 months ago
    Anonymous

    Gen 4's "slowness" has never bothered me

    • 3 months ago
      Anonymous

      I'll do you one better
      Gen 4's "slowness" doesn't exist.

    • 3 months ago
      Anonymous

      It's only ever slow when you fight a chansey/blissey, people do overeact.

    • 3 months ago
      Anonymous

      Surfing in dp has always been a drag but other than that I agree. Also yes that Blissey health bar but you fight like 2 of them in Platinum so I didn't even notice that before Youtube

    • 3 months ago
      Anonymous

      Grinding in those games are a complete pain with the "Slowness"

      • 3 months ago
        Anonymous

        Disagree. DPPT's VS Seeker makes grinding pretty quick, especially if you get a lucky egg from a chansey which is easier to do than you might realize with compoundeyes and thief.

    • 3 months ago
      Anonymous

      Way too much ADHD spazzes here on /vp/

  5. 3 months ago
    Anonymous

    Entei is my favorite legendary beast

  6. 3 months ago
    Anonymous

    The EXP share being permanent is a great addition but why can't there be a accessibility option for those who do want it off?

    • 3 months ago
      Anonymous

      because there’s no reason to turn it off

      • 3 months ago
        Anonymous

        Yes there is

        • 3 months ago
          Anonymous

          No there isn't

          It lets you focus all the exp onto one mon

          You don't need to turn off EXP Share to do that.

          it fricks with EVs

          No, it doesn't.

          The debate continues!
          Perma XP share, much like auto affection or removing set mode, is lame because it limits player option. Masuda’s motivation in X/Y was just to reduce level grinding for 6+ Pokémon members if you wanted a rotating team. But added a toggle for players who wanted a normal playthrough. No one should be getting shamed for this.

          >is lame because it limits player option
          Limiting player options isn't inherently a bad thing.
          >But added a toggle for players who wanted a normal playthrough
          EXP Share is the normal playthrough.

      • 3 months ago
        Anonymous

        It lets you focus all the exp onto one mon

      • 3 months ago
        Anonymous

        Not everyone plays the game the way you do, yawngay.

      • 3 months ago
        Anonymous

        it fricks with EVs

    • 3 months ago
      Anonymous

      no option only play game how we design please andastan

      • 3 months ago
        Anonymous

        >only play game how we design
        I'm glad you understood how video games work.

        >WAAAAAAH WHY CAN'T I TURN OFF DURABILITY IN ZELDA!!!!?
        >WAAAAAAH WHY CAN'T I CHANGE HOW HIGH I JUMP IN MARIO!!!

        • 3 months ago
          Anonymous

          Good games do often have options to toggle certain mechanics

          • 3 months ago
            Anonymous

            Good games more often actually have confidence in their design and don't let players toggle certain mechanics

            • 3 months ago
              Anonymous

              And great games have the confidence to make certain mechanics and options the default, while still letting them be adjustable in an options menu for players that want to try something different in a repeat playthrough. Regardless, Game Freak isn't limiting options because of some design choice, they're doing it out of laziness; case in point, they used to give you the option to adjust the exp share.

              • 3 months ago
                Anonymous

                >And great games have the confidence to not have confidence
                huh?

                >Game Freak isn't limiting options because of some design choice
                It's 100% a design choice. They deliberately removed it because they realized 99.9% of players never turn it off so having it as an option bound to an ingame item instead of just an inherent mechanic is moronic. It's the same reason they removed the Withdraw and Deposit PC options.

        • 3 months ago
          Anonymous

          >WAAAAAAH WHY CAN'T I TURN OFF DURABILITY IN ZELDA!!!!?
          Would legitimately make the game more enjoyable

        • 3 months ago
          Anonymous

          Except you can change how high you jump in mario by letting the A button go early, and no durability in zelda would legitimately make the game more enjoyable.

          • 3 months ago
            Anonymous

            >Except you can change how high you jump in mario by letting the A button go early,

            I swear only /vp/ is this fricking obtuse

            • 3 months ago
              Anonymous

              alright here’s a less obtuse example
              in Mario Wonder some of the badges you can equip give you a higher jump

        • 3 months ago
          Anonymous

          Good games more often actually have confidence in their design and don't let players toggle certain mechanics

          has to be bait if not then God help you in life

        • 3 months ago
          Anonymous

          >WHY CAN'T I CHANGE HOW HIGH I JUMP IN MARIO
          You can though.

        • 3 months ago
          Anonymous

          > How does the exp share being mandatory rather than an option bring anything positive?
          So I don’t turn it off when the game is balanced around it being on and I have a miserable experience

          hi yawngay

    • 3 months ago
      Anonymous

      Rotate your team

      • 3 months ago
        Anonymous

        How about I rotate my balls inside your mouth, eh?

      • 3 months ago
        Anonymous

        Not how I want to play the game, so no.

  7. 3 months ago
    Anonymous

    Platinum's visual updates were soulless and shit

    • 3 months ago
      Anonymous

      discord post

    • 3 months ago
      Anonymous

      Hell no

    • 3 months ago
      Anonymous

      The Platinum updates gave these areas way more personality.

      Previously Sinnoh suffered the same problem FRLG Kanto did: every area looked too much the same.

      • 3 months ago
        Anonymous

        Platinum added variety but you can't really say DP lacked in that department when it was better than every game that came before it

        • 3 months ago
          Anonymous

          Nah, vanilla RS has way more to it's map than vanilla DP.

    • 3 months ago
      Anonymous

      You’re out of your fricking mind if you think bottom right looks worse. The shorelines in DP look like shit.

    • 3 months ago
      Anonymous

      Impressive post for a blind man

    • 3 months ago
      Anonymous

      Never post here again

    • 3 months ago
      Anonymous

      all improvements except Hotel Grand Lake

    • 3 months ago
      Anonymous

      I don't entirely disagree with you, but the gameplay improvements are so infinitely more important that it's pointless to even bring this up.

    • 3 months ago
      Anonymous

      I prefer DP's version of the cemetery tower even if it made zero sense

    • 3 months ago
      Anonymous

      >Make bullshit claim
      >Post picture that disproves your point
      7/10, not the worst trolling I’ve seen

    • 3 months ago
      Anonymous

      agree completely. Platinum looks depressing and boring

      • 3 months ago
        Anonymous

        Blatantly wrong. dp looks way more bland

    • 3 months ago
      Anonymous

      did BDSP keep Platinum's visual updates?

    • 3 months ago
      Anonymous

      >Stark mountain looking like an active volcano is shit compared to D/P where it looked like a regular mountain

    • 3 months ago
      Anonymous

      >active volcano looks the same as every other mountain in the series up to that point

  8. 3 months ago
    Anonymous

    Who the frick is leveling 700+ Pokemon? Is it even possible to use over 700 different kinds of Pokemon in a single run of a game?

    • 3 months ago
      Anonymous

      You're misunderstanding what he's saying. He's not talking about literally leveling all 700+ pokemon. He's saying that, in view of the increase in the number of available species in each game over time, EXP share + candies makes it easier to rotate newly caught pokemon onto your team throughout the main storyline (without forcing you to waste a ton of extra time training up that new pokemon specifically). I agree with this point - in the newer games, I typically keep a rotating team of about 10-11 pokemon that I regularly use in the main storyline (this also helps to prevent inadvertent over-leveling, so the late game battles still have some semblance of a challenge to them).

      I hard disagree with his conclusion that EXP Share should be permanent, though. People who like grinding should be allowed to play that way if they want to. Age and job status are irrelevant.

  9. 3 months ago
    Anonymous

    It shouldn't be obligatory, because it fricked up the EV system.
    He didn't play the game.

  10. 3 months ago
    Anonymous

    Legends Arceus was the first game where the act of catching pokemon was actually fun. Playing SV afterwards and having to catch the Ruinous quartet made me realize how ass it is in every other game. Getting a legendary's HP to red and then spamming ultra balls until you get lucky is is cancer.
    And we've put up with it for ~25 fricking years.

    • 3 months ago
      Anonymous

      I agree with this

      Also npc trainer battles are boring dogshit and 99% of the time only exist just to pad the game. I think part of the reason PLA is so good is because it has actual gameplay instead of relying on just mashing A at trainers.

      • 3 months ago
        Anonymous

        I also like how fast battles are decided. Agile and Strong moves were really cool. Wild pokemon, especially alpha, can be really strong and tough which makes battles fun. Getting attacked by wild pokemon is really interactive too.
        PLA was so fun.

      • 3 months ago
        Anonymous

        Pokemon really needs to focus on having fewer, tougher, fights.
        Playing Baldur's Gate 3, and I am so happy that there are really only a few encounters in any given area, and each feels like it could be called a serious fight.
        If I am approaching a dungeon or new 'route', I know that I am only going to fight one or two enemy parties within it, with few exceptions. Each fight will actually matter.

        Pokemon has the issue where NPC trainers are too trivial and too plentiful, so you end up resenting their existence. Rather than feeling satisfied after a hard fought match.

        • 3 months ago
          Anonymous

          I love some of these meme NPC trainers.
          The classic fisherman with 6 Magikarp, or the one with a team of 5 Gyrados where each subsequent one is lower leveled until his last Pokemon is a Magikarp.

          • 3 months ago
            Anonymous

            The meme trainers are fun.
            It is the ones with 3 monsters 4 levels lower than the last gym leader, that are a pain in the ass.
            If they want to go all out on the gimmick fights, I'd support that over this annoying slurry of mooks.

        • 3 months ago
          Anonymous

          100% agreed
          if I ever get around to making my ideal romhack there'd be just a few trainers of each trainer class spread across the various routes, probably 10% as many trainers as in the base game, and each one would have a more unique personality/strategy/team make-up.
          each one could be rebattled and they'd learn who you are and have a number of unique lines each which give you a picture of who they are
          they'd catch and train new pokemon over time and the better trainers would even have more than 6 (eventually) which they'd rotate as they pleased so you wouldn't necessarily know which pokemon you'd be facing when you went around to rebattle them
          and they'd have different battle preferences. some people would want an even battle, maybe just three of theirs versus three of yours. others might prefer double battles. criminals wouldn't follow any rules, so grunts and cueballs and other ruffians would literally send out all of their pokemon against you at once, but you could do the same and overawe them.
          also they'd have a schedule. hiker joe might spend 6 days a week walking around union cave but on sundays he'd head to the nearest town to stock up on supplies
          schoolkid arin would only be available to battle for a few hours after school when he'd head to the park, except on weekends when he'd spend all day training
          etc etc
          traveling trainers could be see in different places, on their own journeys.
          and battle hotspots like the frontier wouldn't only have generic trainers, but could also have familiar ones. they might say "hey gold! what a coincidence we're both at the battle tower!" etc etc
          for bonus points each trainer getting a unique sprite (probably based on existing ones. so if there were 9 lasses you could meet in the game, each could look like the lass from a different generation, etc) would further boost the effect

    • 3 months ago
      Anonymous

      That's the same way you catch legendaries in legends arceus

  11. 3 months ago
    Anonymous

    Being objectively wrong is not an unpopular opinion. All defenses for no toggle are resolved by simply not turning it off. It’s literally on by default so your lazy ass can’t b***h and moan about turning it on yourself.
    Meanwhile EV training is much more grindy, the exact fricking thing this change was “supposed to solve” as you now have to box Pokemon you don’t want to get certain EVs in.

  12. 3 months ago
    Anonymous

    Megas always sucked

    • 3 months ago
      Anonymous

      Mega-Pidgeot, Mega-Abosmasnow, Mega-Mawile, Mega-Gallade, Mega-Breedrill, Mega-Lucario, Mega-Agronn, Mega-Charizard, Mega-Metagross, Mega-Steelix and Mega-Mewtwo all mog their base designs.
      Mega-Gardevoir and Mega-Rayquaza are equal.
      You are a nostalhomosexual

      • 3 months ago
        Anonymous

        Even if we take all those shitty designs at face value (Mega-Mewtwo? Mega-Lucario? Mega-Rayquaza??? Really?) That's still a success rate of 15/46, or 32%, in having good designs.
        Megas always have sucked.

        • 3 months ago
          Anonymous

          Yeah, Mega-Mewtwo feels optimized as a psychic and has the eerie vibre Mew's mutant clone deserves, and Mega-Lucario is better than Lucario in every way, literally makes normal Lucario feel like a NFE mon.

        • 3 months ago
          Anonymous

          Get better taste. That’s all I can tell you.

      • 3 months ago
        Anonymous

        >Mega Mewtwo is a better design than regular Mewtwo
        lmao imagine defending the stupid head tail on Mega Y

    • 3 months ago
      Anonymous

      Mega Absol is 100% pure unadulterated sex.
      Mega Swampert is hilarious

    • 3 months ago
      Anonymous

      Mega Charizard X is cool. Kys you contrarian homosexual.

      • 3 months ago
        Anonymous

        Mega Charizard Y should have been Mega Dragonite. Blatant Charizard fanboyism is stupid on its own, but when the devs contract it and give a single fricking pokemon two mega forms, it just blows my mind. I honestly don't get why charizard is so popular anyway. It is the most generic pokemon there is.

        • 3 months ago
          Anonymous

          Or worse, when they give one Mega to two different pokemon

        • 3 months ago
          Anonymous

          It's entirely due to the original charizard from the TCG.

    • 3 months ago
      Anonymous

      I just never liked Megas as a concept. The lack of a "temporary super form" is what separated Pokemon from Digimon for me.

      • 3 months ago
        Anonymous

        agreed
        really pissed that mega banette and mega mawile aren't just regular evos, too.
        sableye needs a better one though.

    • 3 months ago
      Anonymous

      Surely designs that “add absolutely nothing” are by definition “equal to the base form”

      • 3 months ago
        Anonymous

        Not really.
        Something like Mega Venusaur does not justify it's own existance. There's no purpose to seperate it from regular Venusaur design wise. That makes it one of the worst designs, as activating this SUPER-ANIME-TRANSFORMATION and popping out Venusaur again is terrible.

    • 3 months ago
      Anonymous

      Mega Banette, Houndoom, Audino, Abomasnow, Absol, Mawile, Lucario, and Kangaskhan should’ve been straight up evolutions. Mega evolution should’ve only been for three stage evolutions.

    • 3 months ago
      Anonymous

      My unpopular opinion on megas: It was stupid to limit one per team. Mega Pidgeot and Mega Beedrill are not the same as Mega Mewtwo.

    • 3 months ago
      Anonymous

      the original Pinsir was a perfect design IMO
      that being said, I liked the Mega making it viable

  13. 3 months ago
    Anonymous

    The Unova dex is underrated, especially the most hated ones. A lot of my favorites come from there.

    • 3 months ago
      Anonymous

      It having the most amount of pokemon both hurts and helps it.
      Love me a Reuniclus, Golurk, Gigalith, Excadrill, and Liligant, just to name a few
      But it's also just as easy to point out Gurdurr, Gothitelle, Klinklang, Druddigon, and Bouffalant, just to name a few.

      • 3 months ago
        Anonymous

        I actually really like Druddigon, tho.

        • 3 months ago
          Anonymous

          Eh, more power to ya man.
          Think I didn't like Druddigon to begin with all to much, and seeing it's model in XY made it even sink lower to me. But if you're a fan, go ahead and enjoy him.

        • 3 months ago
          Anonymous

          I like Druddigon too

        • 3 months ago
          Anonymous

          I fricking love Druddigon.

      • 3 months ago
        Anonymous

        i love bouffalant

      • 3 months ago
        Anonymous

        >gothitelle
        >klinklang
        >bouffalant
        All among the best in gen 5.

        Druddigon is a massive stinker though.

        • 3 months ago
          Anonymous

          >All among the best in gen 5.
          damn no wonder no one likes that shitty dex

    • 3 months ago
      Anonymous

      the starters are the worst, the genies are the worst legends, unfezant is the worst bird, patrat is the worst mammal, thorh, sawk, conkeldurr, klink line, monkeys, trash, ice creams and much more are all dogshit designs. it's not underrated at all its just bad

      • 3 months ago
        Anonymous

        >the genies are the worst legends
        Nah their base forms are cool

      • 3 months ago
        Anonymous

        Royal snake redeems the starter trio
        Galar in the other hand, all of them are stinkers

        • 3 months ago
          Anonymous

          >Royal snake redeems the starter trio
          Voregay detected

      • 3 months ago
        Anonymous

        >the starters are the worst
        Nah, Galar rightfully deserves the worst starters title. Paldea comes second, and isn't tied with Galar because Skeledirge carries the whole gen

        • 3 months ago
          Anonymous

          Niantic have also released the Paldea and Hisui starters before Galar. A testament of how unlikeable the Galar trio is.

      • 3 months ago
        Anonymous

        >the genies are the worst legends
        not when Calyrex exists

  14. 3 months ago
    Anonymous

    I wish they would take even more stuff from the real life natural world.

  15. 3 months ago
    Anonymous

    Gen 4 has the lowest quality roster of new Pokemon when you remove all the crossgen evos and legendary Pokémon

  16. 3 months ago
    Anonymous

    DP are actually good games and only people who haven't played them (zoomers) say otherwise

    • 3 months ago
      Anonymous

      Anon, most children who played them are zoomers Like me

      • 3 months ago
        Anonymous

        I mean late zoomers/early gen alpha
        Im also a zoomer and I played them for the first time this year and they were quite good, of course not as good as platinum but that's another matter

  17. 3 months ago
    Anonymous

    We need Dex-cuts at this point if we hope to ever get a semblance of a functioning game again.
    Expecting Gamefreak to create quality when they have to implement over 1000 creatures is naive at best, delusional at worst.
    Not to mention, there's really no downside. Makes each game a more unique experience, completing each games dex not a pain in the ass of just trading up, and has pretty much no impact on teambuilding for the campaign, given they don't give you all the pokemon before the Elite 4 anyway.

    • 3 months ago
      Anonymous

      I too enjoy lying to myself.

      • 3 months ago
        Anonymous

        Where’s the lie?
        Actually, better question, what is the genuine value in having over 1000 creatures instead of, say, 500?
        Even if it’s variety for variety sake, the diminishing returns means time is better spent elsewhere.

    • 3 months ago
      Anonymous

      i dont get what anon meant by this, the games are worse, have objectively less content than the pre-natdex games AND we dont have all the pokemon. lgpe had less content than frlg. bdsp had less content than HGSS and platinum, both were shit.
      this anon must be from a world where dexcut enabled them to make actual good games, but sadly in this world SV is an embarrassment of an open world title and still has no fricking content, not even a battle tower. you just shiny hunt and do raids that barely even work.

      we lost natdex and got LITERALLY nothing out of it.

      • 3 months ago
        Anonymous

        Imagine how shit SV would be if they had to add the entire natdex. It's already sloppily made janky garbage. If they had to add every single one of the 1000+ pokemon to the game it would be literally unplayable. Honestly I would be happy with even harsher cuts if the overall technical quality and polish of the games increased. I'll take 500 'mons and decent graphics with few to no bugs over the full natdex but shitty presentation and glitches everywhere.
        Rotating rosters are nothing new in games, fighting games usually cycle characters in and out between games. I don't think implementing that sort of thing is the worst thing ever.

        • 3 months ago
          Anonymous

          >agine how shit SV would be if they had to add the entire natdex. It's already sloppily made janky garbage.
          yeah it sounds like gf are just dogshit devs no matter if the dex is in or not, so we might as well get the full dex
          also dont get why youre acting like having the full dex is an impossible task when there are not even 20 pokemon total that havent been on a switch title, in the age of post release patches and dlc the only thing stopping them from adding in all the pokemon is morons like you who defend it

          we lost the pokemon so they could hold them hostage in pokehome and use past pokemon like starters as a selling point for shit tier DLC

          • 3 months ago
            Anonymous

            Imagine how shit SV would be if they had to add the entire natdex. It's already sloppily made janky garbage. If they had to add every single one of the 1000+ pokemon to the game it would be literally unplayable. Honestly I would be happy with even harsher cuts if the overall technical quality and polish of the games increased. I'll take 500 'mons and decent graphics with few to no bugs over the full natdex but shitty presentation and glitches everywhere.
            Rotating rosters are nothing new in games, fighting games usually cycle characters in and out between games. I don't think implementing that sort of thing is the worst thing ever.

            i dont get what anon meant by this, the games are worse, have objectively less content than the pre-natdex games AND we dont have all the pokemon. lgpe had less content than frlg. bdsp had less content than HGSS and platinum, both were shit.
            this anon must be from a world where dexcut enabled them to make actual good games, but sadly in this world SV is an embarrassment of an open world title and still has no fricking content, not even a battle tower. you just shiny hunt and do raids that barely even work.

            we lost natdex and got LITERALLY nothing out of it.

            https://i.imgur.com/OW8cmB9.jpg

            Whats your "unpopular Pokémon opinion?"

            Pokemon fangames REGULARLY include all 800+ pokemon.

            Game Frick doesn't need to spend much time and money importing existing models/animations from older gens.

            Dexit happened to sell DLC, anyone who says otherwise is a mixed-race half-wit.

  18. 3 months ago
    Anonymous

    BDSP is the best remake in the series due to all the content it adds

    • 3 months ago
      Anonymous

      which is?

      • 3 months ago
        Anonymous

        >Most of the Platinum content.
        >Better dex.
        >Expanded underground.
        >More mini games.
        >Expanded bases.
        >Expanded Amity Square.
        >More and better rematches.
        >Expanded battle tower
        >Trainer customization

        • 3 months ago
          Anonymous

          Every single other remake added more than this

          • 3 months ago
            Anonymous

            No they didn't, only HGSS comes close to new content added. Also BDSP rematches shit on all the other ones from other remakes

            • 3 months ago
              Anonymous

              FRLG added a bunch of post game locations and ORAS, while not good, still added story bits in the post game. That's much more than what BDSP added.
              The sets are good, but they're ruined by the broken friendship thing, overleveling due to the game not accounting for its own exp share system, and trainers not using the underground mons, effectively making them an advantage for the player.
              Sinnoh is the best region and it deserved the best remakes. But game freak are Black folk so they neglected BDSP, having some shitty third party do it for them, so it got the worst remakes instead.

              • 3 months ago
                Anonymous

                >FRLG added a bunch of post game locations
                Sevii Islands is hardly anything
                >ORAS, while not good, still added story bits in the post game.
                Story bits that are maybe only neat to experience once. Whereas in BDSP it's a new experience every time you play with the much stronger gameplay. BDSP doesn't need much of a "post game" because the main game itself is already stronger.
                >, but they're ruined by the broken friendship thing
                Unless you're going out of your way to grind friendship this is rarely an issue.
                >overleveling due to the game not accounting for its own exp share system
                You're never overleveled unless you're grinding. You can fight every trainer and get into some wild pokemon fights with the same team and not be overleveled.
                >and trainers not using the underground mons, effectively making them an advantage for the player.
                They do for rematches

                If you actually like Sinnoh like I do you'd realize BDSP is objectively better than DP. Only when comparing it to Plat is it more contentious

              • 3 months ago
                Anonymous

                >If you actually like Sinnoh like I do you'd realize BDSP is objectively better than DP
                It really, really isn't no. DP were finished games, BDSP is a bootleg.

              • 3 months ago
                Anonymous

                >DP were finished games, BDSP is a bootleg
                Care to elaborate?

              • 3 months ago
                Anonymous

                Haven't you notice how even moving around in BDSP hardly works as intended? Why does the following pokemon block you sometimes? Why can you get softlocked in Candice's gym?

              • 3 months ago
                Anonymous

                >Haven't you notice how even moving around in BDSP hardly works as intended?
                Moving around works just fine 99% of the time. That 1% is due to BDSP being a 360 game on a grid map.
                >Why does the following pokemon block you sometimes?
                They don't really block you?
                >Why can you get softlocked in Candice's gym?
                I think that was fixed ages ago?

              • 3 months ago
                Anonymous

                No even bootleggers know how and when to include qol changes.

              • 3 months ago
                Anonymous

                >Get told how BDSP is better
                >Uhhh aksully no it isn't because*reasons*
                Concession accepted

              • 3 months ago
                Anonymous

                >>Get told how BDSP is better
                schizo headcanon moment

              • 3 months ago
                Anonymous

                >Unless you're going out of your way to grind friendship this is rarely an issue.
                Thats bait. You can get max friendship so easily. I had to try my best to use bitter medicines to try and make my pokemon like me less but it was fighting a losing battle. Like every time I took damage in a battle, I'd just use bitter healing items. Doing that for 6 pokemon was a waste of my time

          • 3 months ago
            Anonymous

            How do I get follow pokemon in ORAS?

            • 3 months ago
              Anonymous

              How do I use dexnav in BDSP

              • 3 months ago
                Anonymous

                Man I miss the dexnav, it was the fricking best

            • 3 months ago
              Anonymous

              How do i get my following partner in BDSP to actually be functional and follow me?

  19. 3 months ago
    Anonymous

    All decent looking Pokégirls (aka human female trainers) deserve good non-giantess, non-tickling, non-fume, dialogue-free footgay art

  20. 3 months ago
    Anonymous

    Pokemon are not sexy.

  21. 3 months ago
    Anonymous

    People who use twitter screenshots to start threads should be permabanned

  22. 3 months ago
    Anonymous

    FRLG are probably my least favorite games in the series and the only ones I could never finish
    I really enjoyed ORAS (they might be my favorites next to HGSS) and the lack of a battle frontier hardly matters to me
    Dexcut was coming, like it or not, and you might as well just accept that it's not going away unless there's a serious shake-up at GF
    Eelektross's 3d animation is better than its 2d one

    • 3 months ago
      Anonymous

      >Eelektross's 3d animation is better than its 2d one
      Agreed, it "walking" looks goofy as shit

    • 3 months ago
      Anonymous

      How is LGPE more fun than FRLG?

  23. 3 months ago
    Anonymous

    Battle Frontier is a waste of time RNG fest where even if you prepare for it it will just adjust the RNG on you. Palmer starts with one Pokemon and kicks your ass, adjust your team so your counter to it is out first. Oh but the Pokemon you had trouble with before isn't first this time, now it's the one that perfectly counters your counter

  24. 3 months ago
    Anonymous

    >if you're an "adult" you shouldn't have enough free time to devote to things you enjoy
    disgusting, soulless take

    • 3 months ago
      Anonymous

      the mindset of breeders

  25. 3 months ago
    Anonymous

    Megas are just another gimmick like z/dyna/tera.

  26. 3 months ago
    Anonymous

    These games were actually shit.
    >Music was soulless garbage
    >Did nothing to fix the level scaling or species diversity
    >Did nothing to fix boring-ass region with a few interesting landmarks
    >Apriballs spawning new levels of autism in catching/collecting/breeding
    >Still slow as frick Gen 4 trash engine and animations
    >People see a sprite follow you and suddenly it's ThE BeSt
    >$200 if you wanna get the full experience in current year because scarcity and stupid peripheral

    • 3 months ago
      Anonymous

      was soulless garbage
      One of two points I agree with, even then you can cheat in the GB Sounds
      >>Did nothing to fix the level scaling or species diversity
      Skill issue, and wrong, you can get some of the worst offenders in the new safari zone
      >>Did nothing to fix boring-ass region with a few interesting landmarks
      >why isn't the region an amusement park tour????
      Shit taste
      spawning new levels of autism in catching/collecting/breeding
      >more options is........ le bad!!!!!!!!!!
      slow as frick Gen 4 trash engine and animations
      Agree
      see a sprite follow you and suddenly it's ThE BeSt
      >me no like, so it's..... le bad!!!!!!!!
      >>$200 if you wanna get the full experience in current year because scarcity and stupid peripheral
      >the secondhand market being shit is directly linked to the game being bad!!!!
      Not only is your opinion shit, but you're moronic as frick

    • 3 months ago
      Anonymous

      all correct

  27. 3 months ago
    Anonymous

    Calling the original/old games trash on the basis of today's standards is moronic. Critiquing media by modern standards alone is fricking braindead

    • 3 months ago
      Anonymous

      Sorry, but gen 2 was always mid.

    • 3 months ago
      Anonymous

      We're talking about the same people that thinks "Critical Thinking = Personal Enjoyment/Opinion" with the most pseudo-intellectual shit to avoid the fact that their games they like has problems

    • 3 months ago
      Anonymous

      I'm judging Gen 1 by it's contemporary standards.
      Those games were a shit designed mess and bad RPGs by those standards.

  28. 3 months ago
    Anonymous

    I didn't think this was unpopular until I saw it on this board: Samurott is a cool pokemon, and looks cooler as a quadruped (faculative biped) than it would be if was a habitual quadruped. Also, her whiskers are made for snuggling 🙂

    • 3 months ago
      Anonymous

      I don’t get why it needs the “seamitars” though
      it can just swordfight with its horn

  29. 3 months ago
    Anonymous

    >Whats your "unpopular Pokémon opinion?
    BDSP is a very solid Pokemon game and it only gets over-hated here because of the chibi graphics.

    • 3 months ago
      Anonymous

      I find the chibi's cute. It looks good though when it switches to in battle mode.

  30. 3 months ago
    Anonymous

    Gen 4 has never had a good game.
    Gen 2 still has the best post game out of any Pokemon game.
    99% of trainers are worthless padding and is one of the reasons why Legends Arceus is fun and why they're optional in Gen 9.

    • 3 months ago
      Anonymous

      >Gen 4 has never had a good game.
      See

      This is neither unpopular nor true.
      An opinion that would be both true and unpopular would be saying DP are in the top 10 best pokemon games of all time (they are).

      • 3 months ago
        Anonymous

        DP is the 2nd or the 3rd most beloved Pokemon game in Japan though
        West just pretends to hate on it even though Platinum is basically the same game

        • 3 months ago
          Anonymous

          It's become a meme on reddit, twitter and among poketuber to pretend gen 4, especially DP, is bad
          So saying this as an "unpopular opinion" is hilarious
          If you constantly find people who agree with an opinion on mainstream sites it's not unpopular

          • 3 months ago
            Anonymous

            Anon, I said Gen 4 as a whole is bad, not just DP

            • 3 months ago
              Anonymous

              You will find thousands of sand Black folk on twitter saying the same thing

              • 3 months ago
                Anonymous

                All of them love Gen 4 Anon
                Gen 4 is one of the most beloved Gens in the franchise thanks to DS + easy emulation on phones

              • 3 months ago
                Anonymous

                Only by white people

              • 3 months ago
                Anonymous

                Which is why it's the greatest

              • 3 months ago
                Anonymous

                True

                Nah, vanilla RS has way more to it's map than vanilla DP.

                Nah, DP's snow area alone is more different from the rest than any two RS locations

    • 3 months ago
      Anonymous

      >Empty and weak Kanto
      >Best Post game.
      Lmaoooo

      • 3 months ago
        Anonymous

        moronbro....

        • 3 months ago
          Anonymous

          This is a standalone game. Stadium 2 is one of the best games in the franchise if you use rentals only, but kinda uninteresting otherwise unless you love Challenge Cup.

        • 3 months ago
          Anonymous

          >you know how pokemon battles are the driest part of any game
          >well we made a game that is 100% boring ass battles!

          • 3 months ago
            Anonymous

            Why are you playing if you don’t like the gameplay?

            • 3 months ago
              Anonymous

              I like the exploration.
              Pokemon has cultivated a great aesthetic and has some really good route design that is fun to navigate through.

  31. 3 months ago
    Anonymous

    if i cant tell a pokemons type just from looking at it, its a badly designed pokemon

  32. 3 months ago
    Anonymous

    If you're not old enough to have played every main series game at release then your opinion on the series quality as a whole is irrelevant.

    You can have subjective opinions on how much you enjoyed playing an older game in the modern day but you cannot have an informed opinion on how good RBYGSC were if your year of birth begins with a 2

    This applies to all long running video game franchises, If you're a kiddie who grew up playing Skyward Sword I don't give a frick what you think of OoT even if you like it

    • 3 months ago
      Anonymous

      >OOT
      >good
      Finally some good bait

    • 3 months ago
      Anonymous

      >ぷよぷよ no.
      >wasted on cheap bait
      Why does god hate puyo so much

    • 3 months ago
      Anonymous

      OoT is EXTREMELY overrated by nostalgiagays.
      OoT is a vastly inferior game to literally every Zelda game that came after it

      • 3 months ago
        Anonymous

        1. Post birth year
        2. OoT was consistently highly rated on release so it can't just be nostalgia. Whereas subsequent Zelda games like WW and TP were criticised on release and only started being considered as good or 'better' than OoT years later when the kids who played them first grew up, which IS nostalgia. The same thing happened to Pokemon with the Gen V games. They were considered decent at best until recently which is coincidentally the same time that the 8-12 year olds who played them grew up into 18-22 year olds and started getting nostalgic.

        The biggest nostalgiagays are always the ones that accuse others of being nostalgic.

        • 3 months ago
          Anonymous

          >Post birth year
          1987
          OoT is mid

          I'm not blinded by nostalgia into sucking nintendo dick. N64 in general was a massive letdown with a few great games as outliers

          • 3 months ago
            Anonymous

            >1987
            lol what the frick are you still doing here loser you're almost 40

        • 3 months ago
          Anonymous

          OoT was revolutionary for its time, and remains of my favorite games. But I also can't deny that playing it after BotW felt like putting on weighted clothes due to how restrictive movement felt. My current ranking of those games goes like:
          BotW = TotK > MM > OoT > WW > SS > TP

          • 3 months ago
            Anonymous

            >BotW and TotK at the top
            opinion discarded

    • 3 months ago
      Anonymous

      I agree with this entire post.

      It even applies to myself. I grew up with N64 Zeldas and as such my opinion has less weight than someone who actually started the series on NES. Just how it is.

  33. 3 months ago
    Anonymous

    If you're above the age of 25, you should NOT have a lack of a collection in Home.

    • 3 months ago
      Anonymous

      >Implying people should pay for Pokemon Home.
      Imagine

      • 3 months ago
        Anonymous

        If you're too poor for $20/year video games aren't the hobby for you, especially not Nintendo games

  34. 3 months ago
    Anonymous

    >If you're above the age of 25+ you should NOT have that much time
    this guy shit and pissed himself over the VGC bans didn't he

  35. 3 months ago
    Anonymous

    The debate continues!
    Perma XP share, much like auto affection or removing set mode, is lame because it limits player option. Masuda’s motivation in X/Y was just to reduce level grinding for 6+ Pokémon members if you wanted a rotating team. But added a toggle for players who wanted a normal playthrough. No one should be getting shamed for this.

    • 3 months ago
      Anonymous

      I couldn't agree more.
      It should just be a toggle. Take it even further.
      Toggle options.
      Team exp
      Team half exp
      2nd pokemon gets exp
      No exp share
      Exp Pause

    • 3 months ago
      Anonymous

      I wonder if the people who defend the nuEXP Share even like playing Pokemon. Why would you play a monster raising rpg, if you want to do as little monster raising as possible?
      >b-but I want to be optimal with my play time!!!!!
      Why are you even playing video games if you're concerned about not wasting your time?

      • 3 months ago
        Anonymous

        I do more monster raising with the EXP share though. That’s exactly why I like it.

        • 3 months ago
          Anonymous

          I know people joke that this board's average age is around 11, but this is embarrassing

          • 3 months ago
            Anonymous

            >it’s embarrassing that you don’t use 6 pokemon for literally no reason in my toddler game when the poorly designed gameplay doesn’t encourage it

            • 3 months ago
              Anonymous

              I was talking about your embarrassing "argument" and how it sounds like it was thought out by a moronic 11 year old. But I'm sure you got me there champ

        • 3 months ago
          Anonymous

          >I do more monster raising by not actually using them and just carrying them around so they leech experience

        • 3 months ago
          Anonymous

          people like you are the reason smartphone games with auto-play function exist. Why even bother to play the game if it plays itself?

  36. 3 months ago
    Anonymous

    James turner leaving gamefreak was a loss to the series as a whole. The only good thing about Sword and Shield was the art direction.
    His pokemon designs are fine to, he just gets shit because because of the icecream.

  37. 3 months ago
    Anonymous

    objectmon are fine

  38. 3 months ago
    Anonymous

    Verlisify is right.

  39. 3 months ago
    Anonymous

    Pokémon Conquest is the best Spin-off

    • 3 months ago
      Anonymous

      peak bort

  40. 3 months ago
    Anonymous

    the EV system is actually the most interesting character customization available in video games, it just sucks that we can't actually see it worth a crap

  41. 3 months ago
    Anonymous

    the age of consent is 18, also animals can't consent

    • 3 months ago
      Anonymous

      Unfunny gay.

      • 3 months ago
        Anonymous

        I said that in earnest though

    • 3 months ago
      Anonymous

      both wrong. failです。

    • 3 months ago
      Anonymous

      You have enraged the entirety of veepee with one post.

  42. 3 months ago
    Anonymous

    i had enough time to do it in b2w2

  43. 3 months ago
    Anonymous

    There are only 151

    • 3 months ago
      Anonymous

      end the fricking Venomoth and Butterfree meme

  44. 3 months ago
    Anonymous

    Emerald is worse than RS, not counting the BF.
    Gen 4 starters are bad.
    Rhyperior is a good design.
    BW1 is a boring game.
    Is it ok to have shitmons, not everyone has to be viable.

    • 3 months ago
      Anonymous

      >Rhyperior is a good design.
      >BW1 is a boring game.
      these aren't unpopular opinions

  45. 3 months ago
    Anonymous

    Gen 5 starters are among the strongest overall designs in the franchise
    Klefki is a 9/10 design
    I don't want frick gardevoire, lopunny or vaporeon.

    • 3 months ago
      Anonymous

      I love klefki because of scrumptious calem and kuudere serena (old quest that used to run on /vp/)

  46. 3 months ago
    Anonymous

    A lot of people reference this YT video with arounf 1 million views named something among the lines of "Pokemon is a logistical nightmare" when talking about the series but I disagree with almost everything it says

  47. 3 months ago
    Anonymous

    >Whats your "unpopular Pokémon opinion?"

    Natures are bad. Thankfully SV made mints very readily available

  48. 3 months ago
    Anonymous

    Following Pokemon are a stupid gimmick that was never worth implementing.
    Fricking Ashnime Pokemon Yellow babies

  49. 3 months ago
    Anonymous

    EoS is overrated as frick.

    • 3 months ago
      Anonymous

      replayed this not long ago and it's an endless hell of cutscenes and flashbacks
      there is literally a cutscene in this game where you flashback to earlier in the same cutscene due to how long it is

    • 3 months ago
      Anonymous

      Its a good game. Comparing it to mystery dungeon red/blue, its very easy. No 99 floor dungeons except zero isle. However, it does a much better job w world building, character development and sustaining a post-game friendship with your partner.

      Shame its kinda easy tho lol. I rate exployers sky and mystery dungeon blue the same

  50. 3 months ago
    Anonymous

    Many mons are too damn fat or round, and the wings are too small. These mons would be way better designs if they went for more realistic proportions instead of being so cartoony. Charizard for example would look much better if he wasn't such a fatass with wings too small to lift him.

  51. 3 months ago
    Anonymous

    Having just new Pokemon in routes until the post game like BW was a good idea.

  52. 3 months ago
    Anonymous

    What is the scenario that OP is envisoning?
    That anyone in the world is actively leveling up every monster in the game to Lv 100?

  53. 3 months ago
    Anonymous

    I think I had the most fun with trainer customization in SwSh, and I think it looked more polished the SV.
    I honestly wouldn't mind remakes of the old games in the style of SwSh.

    I know I'll be heartbroken by the BW remakes, as some of the areas in those games really felt cool. I loved that the victory road was actually a really pretty hike up the mountain. Hell a lot of the routes in Unova were pretty.

  54. 3 months ago
    Anonymous

    The mystery dungeon games are all bad and their fanbase is moronic.

  55. 3 months ago
    Anonymous

    >less options: good

  56. 3 months ago
    Anonymous

    I've playing Pokemon since the year 2000 (and didn't get gen 1 because my parents couldn't afford it). Gen 7 (but not USUM) were very promising. I actually liked them. They were an uptick in the series after XY ruined it. I thought it was back on track.

    Then Galar and Paldea came and they were the final nail in the coffin. I can only hope Nintendo keeping a closer eye on GameFreak will put the series back to where it was from gens 1-5.

  57. 3 months ago
    Anonymous

    Gen 6 was fantastic for being easy, accessible, revolutionary in graphics, revolutionary for introducing Fairy, great to shiny hunt in and is the last gen with a proper National Dex you can completely fill. It might be the best overall generation of Pokemon for these reasons

    • 3 months ago
      Anonymous

      This one made me legitimately angry. You can’t think 6 is the best. I want to hurt you

    • 3 months ago
      Anonymous

      >revolutionary for introducing Fairy,
      lmao what a joke

  58. 3 months ago
    Anonymous

    PLA is just ok. Not amazing not great
    Gen-8 is easily the worst Gen, followed closely by 5
    99% of the johto hate is just contrarians and edgy zoomers who grew up with gen5
    Pokémon isn’t irredeemable and it’s not too late to give a solid Gen 10 to set up for an amazing Gen 11 if we ditch the experimental bs
    Pokémon doesn’t work as an open world.
    We should Get a new generation every 4 or 5 years not 3
    Sinnoh, johto & kanto are peak Pokémon
    Gen6 is just OK
    IVYgay is the worst tripgay on here and not very memorable
    Inteleon isn’t awful
    Hoenn has the best starters.
    Peace

  59. 3 months ago
    Anonymous

    the worst thing about gen 9 is that they removed the real time clock feature

  60. 3 months ago
    Anonymous

    IVs are shit and I hate them. Its doesn‘t make your pokemon unique its just makes it suboptimal without autismo grinding or breeding.

  61. 3 months ago
    Anonymous

    Cartoonified and recolored animals mons are lazy shit

    • 3 months ago
      Anonymous

      Agreed they are honestly more lazy than most objectmons

  62. 3 months ago
    Anonymous

    Gen 5 and 6 have some of the best pokemon designs of all time

  63. 3 months ago
    Anonymous

    Smugleaf's evolution is a disappointment

  64. 3 months ago
    Anonymous

    Hisui is top 3 in starter trios. One of the few sets that I liked all equally

  65. 3 months ago
    Anonymous

    PLA and SV are both top 5 in the series and great stepping stones for future titles after a rocky 3DS and early Switch era.

  66. 3 months ago
    Anonymous

    I refuse to say "SwSh" because some homosexual, years ago, jumped down my throat for not using the term "the community" agreed on.

    • 3 months ago
      Anonymous

      you just did tho

    • 3 months ago
      Anonymous

      Nobody even agreed. We were all arguing about it until Game Freak managed to distract us with something more controversial in June.

  67. 3 months ago
    Anonymous

    pokemon should not have levels
    remove the exp system and levels from the game, give them all the stats they would have at level 50 as a base, have them evolve/learn moves/gain evs through training and spending time with them
    this way you can catch and use a pokemon without it being crippled by the least interesting stat in the game, but training a pokemon and learning to use it still matters, and you can still technically grind out an advantage

    • 3 months ago
      Anonymous

      There should simply be an optional set mode where every trainer's pokemon are a level higher than the highest leveled pokemon in your party

      • 3 months ago
        Anonymous

        >inb4 gayfreak """"coding""""""" causes a crash whenever you fight a trainer with a Lvl.100 Pokemon
        lol

    • 3 months ago
      Anonymous

      Interesting idea.

    • 3 months ago
      Anonymous

      That just sounds like Digimon.

  68. 3 months ago
    Anonymous

    Frick starters. All gens. All fields.

  69. 3 months ago
    Anonymous

    Digimon world and digimon cyber sleuth look better and have better game play loops than pokemon, and I'd gladly trade generic animations for 75% of the moves if it means we got dope animations for each pokemon

  70. 3 months ago
    Anonymous

    It's a game made for children. If you haven't found a fanmade that does it for you by now, you won't be happy no matter what happens in the mainline games. Just accept your childhood is over and move on.

    • 3 months ago
      Anonymous

      counterpoint: I accept that I am no longer the target audience, see the games for what they are, yet still have fun with them

    • 3 months ago
      Anonymous

      Mario Galaxy is also for kids.
      But is a great game for long time platforming experts.

  71. 3 months ago
    Anonymous

    >needing to grind in fricking pokemon
    smartest twitter Black person

  72. 3 months ago
    Anonymous

    BW is overhated, but also overhyped
    it's just okay

  73. 3 months ago
    Anonymous

    SV is a step in the right direction, yall are just too used to parroting eachother to realize.

  74. 3 months ago
    Anonymous

    Jobmon is an overused buzzword used by tards who just want recolored animals

  75. 3 months ago
    Anonymous

    Iris is the first true Dragon champion. Lance's team is mostly flying so he is a flying type champion.

  76. 3 months ago
    Anonymous

    >What's your unpopular opinion
    >Post the screenshot of a person being in favor of EXP share
    That's not an unpopular opinion. The unpopular opinion are the morons screeching against EXP share. Just because they're loud doesn't mean they're the majority.

    • 3 months ago
      Anonymous

      No one is against the exp share. People are against it being always-on when it used to be an option.

      • 3 months ago
        Anonymous

        > People are against it being always-on
        That’s still an unpopular opinion. 99.9% of people don’t care about it being always on because there was never a reason to turn it off anyway.

        • 3 months ago
          Anonymous

          As you have been told, repeatedly, there are plenty of valid reasons to turn it off:
          >ev training
          >challenge runs
          >roleplaying
          Just because you personally do not play that way, doesn't mean others don't play that way.

        • 3 months ago
          Anonymous

          >there was never a reason to turn it off anyway.
          ev training

  77. 3 months ago
    Anonymous

    Battle Faculties were always shoddy pieces of End Game content. They're better than nothing of course and I'm not trying to excuse their absence but they're not really that good as compared to constructed experiences other than you can do it ad nauseum.
    The exception here being Battle Factory of course and I feel like the other faculties would be better if they were designed in the same vain.

  78. 3 months ago
    Anonymous

    Dexit was a good thing. It's kind of like "rotation" in some TCGs, where old cards get cycled out of the game for a period of time as new stuff comes in, which stops the game from being inflated with way too many options -especially old meta staples - and instead encourages variety.

    Also, they still haven't made a girl better than Flannery.

    • 3 months ago
      Anonymous

      A rotation is fine for tournament play; arguably even a plus. If VGC was just "current gen, current gen minus one, current gen minus two" it'd make for a fun and interesting meta and probably be overall healthier. Imaging if the genies of a balanced meta were eventually retired. The problem is
      1) Even in TCG unofficial legacy modes still exist. My old Pokemon should still be able to be brought into the game, even if there's nothing new for them and they just sit there with me in the single player campaign.
      2) It's not a fair rotation. GF favorites like Pikachu, Charizard, Lucario, etc. are always going to be part of the Pokedex while others are going to get left out.

    • 3 months ago
      Anonymous

      >It's like rotation
      Then why is all the cancer always included? Why is the only thing relevant shit from the most recent gen?

  79. 3 months ago
    Anonymous

    Gen 1 has never received a good remake
    Gen 2 is everything Pokemon should strive to be
    Gen 3 perfected region design
    Gen 4 was just gen 3 but worse in every way and started the downfall of the series
    Most of the shit people complain about nowadays started or were emphasized in gen 5
    Gen 8 and 9 push the series forward and I respect them much more for trying and failing than the stale mediocrity of gens 6 and 7

    • 3 months ago
      Anonymous

      >Gen 2 is everything Pokemon should strive to be
      >Gen 3 perfected region design
      >Gen 4 was just gen 3 but worse in every way and started the downfall of the series
      >Most of the shit people complain about nowadays started or were emphasized in gen 5
      He said "unpopular pokemon opinions".

  80. 3 months ago
    Anonymous

    I like Mudkip.

  81. 3 months ago
    Anonymous

    Random encounters should be very difficult.

    Trash trainer battles and trash random encounters leave a lot of the games feeling unmemorable. I dont really care about routes or cities outside of the resources i can get in them and im not going to use 90% of the pokemon or items i encounter anyways. I end generations having no idea what the majority of pokemon do, their stats or movepools or even their types sometimes. If random encounters were much harder, and i mean actually had the potential to white out, i would be more interested in learning about each pokemon and maybe even using more of them in a single playthrough. I would remember the strategies of pokemon in certain areas better and what beats them.

    monster sanctuary has a lot of unique skill sets and synergies between monsters found in the same areas. its very apparent on master mode that the high potential for a trash overworld encounter to wipe your team was a much better model for tension/engagement than relying on the keeper battles (equivalent of rival/gym battles in pokemon). sure the game has a lot more complexity but the comparison can still stand that the more difficulty and problem solving you endure, the more memorable the game as a whole is.

    • 3 months ago
      Anonymous

      >Nuclear level take
      The games need a lot less focus on combat and battling. Im not saying we need more moronic minigames like pokemon amie or camp but there should be a lot more simulation aspects and ecology and adventure/problem solving in pokemon games. The combat has been stale and outdated since like ruby/saphire and its not gotten any more interesting since then, its especially apparent during the campaign how boring this 4 menu option 4 move set 1 action per turn 1 active pokemon system is. Other people think maybe there should be action commands like mario or skill trees like other rpgs or multi monster battles etc
      WRONG
      all these solutions are stupid because they want to fix the combat when the real solution is to have less of it. pokemon combat is extremely time consuming, its not satisfying, they are glorified cutscenes at this point.

      this poster for example is mentally ill and thinks the combat can be salvaged.

      • 3 months ago
        Anonymous

        Why are there so many of you people? Pokemon ecology never made sense, it will never make sense, Gamefreak doesn't care and isn't going to try to make it make sense. They will never be anything but very loose standins for the animal they're based on.

      • 3 months ago
        Anonymous

        Battling is definitely the most boring part of the game, it can be fun on some challenge hacks, when you have to deal with boss battles, but playing BB2/VW2 recently, it is absolutely a slog when I have to do a bunch in a row.
        Exploration of the world and the monsters themselves is way more fun.

    • 3 months ago
      Anonymous

      >monster sanctuary
      this deserved to be a pokemon killer, great campaign and monster designs, great build diversity, party based combat, multiple game modes, castlevania style maps and exploration. The devs stated they used dark souls, monster rancher, and castlevania as an inspiration for their game, not pokemon, and it really shows

  82. 3 months ago
    Anonymous

    There should be pokemon games made for adults.

  83. 3 months ago
    Anonymous

    >Lukewarm Takes
    Playing Touhou Puppet Dance Performance made me realize that there is actually a ton you /could/ do with the Pokemon formula easily to expand it, but Game Freak will never do it.

    >Slightly Spicier Takes
    Growing up I used to be adamant about all Pokemon designs being good, but at Gen 7 I realized the genwunners were right. Specifically, the art style of Gen 1+2. I judge Pokemon designs by how well they could fit in that vision of the game.

    Romhacks are really going to be the only way to get any enjoyment out of Pokemon these days.

    Game Freak has failed in thematically fleshing out several of the types, specifically Psychic, Fairy, Fighting and Electric.They're either one-note, or absurdly broad with no real thematic consistency.

    Pokemon should've leaned more into the virtual pet aspect and it's astounding XY was the only push to it, and that being just with the Nintendogs petting game.

    >Spicy Takes
    Gen 5, while not bad in itself, started many of the bad practices that plague this series, and was a harbinger of what was to come.

    The Dexcut was a travesty, but Game Freak was moronic for not realizing the "make hundred+ new Pokemon each gen" was not a sustainable business model and should've focused on quality over quantity. They should've found a way to make captivating new Gens with only 50 new mons. That said, the dex cut removed the one unique feature Pokemon had going for it all these years and killed the series.

    Pokemon could benefit from a darker tone if done right. It's just that Game Freak has never had good writers and the romhack autists that try to do it are 15 year olds. An SMT-esque Pokemon done in the Gen 1 world would be fitting and allow them to touch on many of the sci-fi tropes they want to, like animal experimentation, animal abuse, gangs and corruption, and the consequences of living in a world with extremely powerful monsters.

    All Pokemon being very friendly and personable characters instead of monsters is gay as shit.

  84. 3 months ago
    Anonymous

    Gen 3 not having a day/night cycle was a good thing because it made the games look like a bright topical summer holiday at all times

    Gen 1 is the only game with good story/writing/characters

    Dexcutting needs to go further, I would rather have ~200 pokemon per game but have them be really detailed and interesting than have the 600+ we have now, I actually think it takes a lot of out the newer regions seeing so many older pokemon forced into them

    Not sure if this is an unpopular opinion, but I don't want an "open world" pokemon game. Yes S/V sucked, but I would still hate the idea even if we got a legitimately good high effort open world pokemon game

  85. 3 months ago
    Anonymous

    The bike music has always pissed me off. I was listening to the background music, time for this same theme for the millionth time

  86. 3 months ago
    Anonymous

    I hate reddit cutsey, "friend-shaped", le wholesome "good boi" shitmons like this and Spheal.

  87. 3 months ago
    Anonymous

    PLA was the right call for Pokemon and should be the main focus moving forward. Old gays don't want to lean on the competitive spreadsheet simulator side of pokemon games and just want an adventure to feel like in pokemania again and kids have no attention span for turn based games and breeding perfect mons. The classical formula has no target market anymore and should be abandoned for something else.

    Also, going against myself here PLA could have a little more meat to the bone of combat, and making an intereting point of breeding and raising pokemon for something more than perfect IVs and egg moves also could benefit the game overall.

  88. 3 months ago
    Anonymous

    What kind of homosexual opinion is this?
    How does the exp share being mandatory rather than an option bring anything positive?
    Maybe not everyone is a homosexual who catchs and train all the pokemon in the game like that guy. Maybe I just want to train my team of 6 carefully picked bros.

    • 3 months ago
      Anonymous

      > How does the exp share being mandatory rather than an option bring anything positive?
      So I don’t turn it off when the game is balanced around it being on and I have a miserable experience

      • 3 months ago
        Anonymous

        So...turn it back on then? It's not a permanent setting.
        >what does this setting do?
        >oh it makes it so only the front pokemon gets experience, I don't like that
        >turns it back on
        Like I guess if you were a Black person who couldn't understand the beep from the hallway was the smoke detector you might have a hard time recognizing that the the exp share option affected the experience gains after battle, but presumably anyone literate and over the age of five would be fine with it.

        • 3 months ago
          Anonymous

          >So...turn it back on then?
          Yay! Now I wasted my time playing the game for hours with a worse experience and now my Pokemon's levels are fricked up! This sure is better than simply leaving the option out of the game and balancing your game properly!

          • 3 months ago
            Anonymous

            >hours
            It takes one battle to see what the exp share does. If you are that moronic then you shouldn't be playing the games anyways.

            • 3 months ago
              Anonymous

              But also, lower level Pokemon are given more experience (that's the whole point of the exp share) so even if you did somehow leave it off for hours then turn it back on, your Pokemon would catch up after a battle or two.

            • 3 months ago
              Anonymous

              >It takes one battle to see what the exp share does
              I don't know if the game is balanced around it or not after one battle, moron-kun.

              • 3 months ago
                Anonymous

                I can, maybe you're the moron here?

  89. 3 months ago
    Anonymous

    johto does NOT lack good pokemon, they are amazing
    heracross ampharos quagsire ursaring donphan tyranitar lanturn scizor espeon azumarill, and if you can count honchkrow mismagius

    • 3 months ago
      Anonymous

      forgot about granbull very underrated pokemon
      even sunflora is much better than people say

    • 3 months ago
      Anonymous

      All the cross evos and dark types are good(except Bellossom and Sneasel in GSC) but is a pain in the ass to get most of them in a play through

    • 3 months ago
      Anonymous

      the problem is half of those arent even available until postgame, 90% of your johto experience is fighting ledians and hoothoots until you beat the E4.

      And the other half weren't good until several gens later when they gave them good movesets and abilities.

      • 3 months ago
        Anonymous

        >problem is half arent even avilable till postgame

        not true. the only only ones really are tyranitar (only in gsc) and houndoom
        donphan and ursaring aren't the easiest to get since they are in route 45 but still usable with their high level when catching

      • 3 months ago
        Anonymous

        the problem is half of those arent even available until postgame,
        Only about 6 or so lines are post game. The issue is the game shoves ten to twenty GenWun pokemon at you for every one new pokemon.

        >90% of your johto experience is fighting ledians and hoothoots until you beat the E4.
        I wish, more like Metapods and Pidgey

        >And the other half weren't good until several gens later when they gave them good movesets and abilities
        The same thing could applies to earlier gens as a whole.

  90. 3 months ago
    Anonymous

    Gen 1 > Gen 6 > Gen 9 > every other Gen > pile of garbage > Gen 5 and 8

  91. 3 months ago
    Anonymous

    my unpopular pokemon opinion is that you are a pokemon.

  92. 3 months ago
    Anonymous

    Catching Pokémon via battling is an overrated mechanic. Anyone who’s played for a while will have it down to a science.

    Let’s Go and PLA had fun catching mechanics and both should continue.

    For casual play, Pokémon X and Y are the best games in the series. An original 3DS and good head phones in a dark room works wonders for immersing yourself into the world of Kalos. The post game story is actually touching and the best in the series. The post game battle factories are challenging with fun player customization like writs. Clothing is the best in the series. The music is great. The friends are great. You can turn EXP share off and skip using mega Evolution to increase difficulty in the main story or go all out with a power fantasy. Breeding is good. You can do skating tricks. The battle restaurants have triple and rotation battles. Shiny odds are better. When combined with ORAS and another 3DS, X and X are forever protected from the Pokédex impacts to the eventual 3DS server shutdown. Fun EV training mini game. Pokémon affection mini game. Sylveon. I could go on, but honestly, I’ve said enough. Best games in the series, 10/10, Five stars, forever replay value.

  93. 3 months ago
    Anonymous

    Every single mainline Pokemon game is terrible. They are way too easy and anyone who enjoys them must be extremely moronic.
    >but they are made for children
    I tried playing this shit when I was a child and thought the same thing.
    Only some of the spinoff games are good.

  94. 3 months ago
    Anonymous

    I don't think any of the human characters are hot. Many Pokemon are much hotter than them, and it is not even close.

  95. 3 months ago
    Anonymous

    there should only be 1 new pokemon gen per console

  96. 3 months ago
    Anonymous

    Cheaters shouldn't be banned but instead put in their own category with other cheaters that way they experience first hand the futility in what they do

    • 3 months ago
      Anonymous

      That's just called VGC.

  97. 3 months ago
    Anonymous

    If you're above the age of 25+ you should NOT be playing video games, let alone Pokémon, you fricking loser of a generation.
    God, I hate millennials.

  98. 3 months ago
    Anonymous

    BDSP and Let's Go are the best Pokemon games on the Switch.

  99. 3 months ago
    Anonymous

    Following pokemon were fricking annoying.
    Always bouncing behind you and never stopping, I finally had some peace indoors where some were too big to come out.

  100. 3 months ago
    Anonymous

    The pokemon anime wasn't as bad as some say.

  101. 3 months ago
    Anonymous

    Exp. Share is good and I really do not understand why people want it off, although I agree they should be able too I just don't know why.

    Also, the whole breeding process is bad and people don't like to recognize it, but they keep playing on Showdown for some strange reason.

    • 3 months ago
      Anonymous

      >EV training is now longer because you need to box your Pokemon
      >There is no longer any point in using your Pokemon evenly, as they’ll be around the same level as you no matter what
      >It makes battling more tedious because you now have to mash past all the level up text boxes when multiple Pokemon level up
      >Some people want to play like how Pokemon was like before and make the game a tiny bit harder

      • 3 months ago
        Anonymous

        >EV training is now longer because you need to box your Pokemon
        Why would I need to do that

        >There is no longer any point in using your Pokemon evenly
        You have it backwards, in gen 1-5 there’s a severe disadvantage in using your Pokemon evenly so there’s never a reason to do it.

        >It makes battling more tedious
        It makes battles less tedious because I no longer have to send out a pokemon just to withdraw it on the next turn
        >Some people want to play like how Pokemon was like before
        You can still do that
        >make the game a tiny bit harder
        Gen 6+ is, on average, harder than Gen 1-5

      • 3 months ago
        Anonymous

        Valid reasons, but consider:

        >EV training is now longer because you need to box your Pokemon
        EV training is another bigger problem and bad game design, it should be free alocation points after level up or be some simpler, clearer, and better way for handling it.
        Also, almost all games with Exp. Share have some way to manipulate or reset EVs.

        >There is no longer any point in using your Pokemon evenly, as they’ll be around the same level as you no matter what
        I think it also helps using your secondary pokemon more, because they are easier to train and helps avoid every player having almost the same team with first routes mons till E4

        >It makes battling more tedious because you now have to mash past all the level up text boxes when multiple Pokemon level up
        Agreed. But the whole game needs to be less verbose with its messaging or have ways to auto skip those messages.

        >Some people want to play like how Pokemon was like before and make the game a tiny bit harder
        I feel this is the only good reason, but I don't think it would make the games harder, just slower.

  102. 3 months ago
    Anonymous

    Genwars are worse than pointless. They are actively harmful to your health.

  103. 3 months ago
    Anonymous

    it's hilarious how anti-expsharegays need to invent a fanfic about the older games being harder for their point to even work, that's ALWAYS why they don't like the exp share, they're legitimately fricking stupid enough that they think gen 1-5 is hard because they were moronic kids who used 6+ pokemon and trained them evenly the entire game.

    • 3 months ago
      Anonymous

      Not an anti-expsharegay but the game is designed around and incenticizes build a team. Of course, the argument is moot given the design is badly implemented and the 3 first games could be played almost start to finish with your starter and the E4 could be battled easily with starter + gift mons + story/easy to catch legendaries with almost no training whatsover.

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *